We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I took my new wife to Brierley Hill B&B after our wedding and enjoyed the stay and wish we had much longer to stay there! Lexington is a very quaint, picturesque town with lots of history. The breakfast was really great and was presented in a very wonderful breakfast area with a wonderful mountain view. The wine and cheese platter (costs extra) was very much worth it and also the champagne and chocolates. We had a wonderful time and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Love Seat Suite was AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
234
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I journeyed to Lexington for part of our honeymoon. After being treated like Kings and Queens at Afton Mt. B&B, checking into Brierley was... cold (and not because it was snowing outside). The room was comfortable and cozy. Breakfast was cheap and tasteless. Our first morning we were served "peach soup" which my husband said, "tastes like a kids chewable multivitamin." The breakfast casseroles were terrible and tasteless. I could go on, but that would be cruel. I hope that anyone who reads this will skip Lexington and head over to Afton Mountain Bed and Breakfast and stay with Orqu

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oilman65, Owner at Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are somewhat confused by this review. Not because of the rating – with over 230 “excellent” and “good” reviews, we expect a less than stellar post occasionally. Joyce & I pride ourselves on welcoming all guests (regardless of their age, religion or sexual orientation) and do not cater to any one group.

The reviewer’s experience with the peach soup is regrettable and resulted from our efforts to accommodate a non-alcohol dietary request from another guest (we substituted almond extract for Frangelico). Had the reviewer said something at the time, we would gladly have prepared a regular batch. Everyone has different tastes and the numerous requests for recipes and raves about our cooking are a testament to our commitment to serving a hearty & delicious breakfast. The reviewer had ample time over their two-day stay to let us know of their displeasure but chose not to.

Perhaps the most confusing part of the review is the reviewer’s hope that others will “skip Lexington and head on over to Afton”. The Lexington / Rockbridge area has a great deal to offer, including several quality Bed & Breakfasts. It would be a shame to miss the entire area based upon one impression of Brierley Hill.

I know Dan & Orquida personally, having met them last year when Dan and I served as Board members for the Bed & Breakfast Association of Virginia. They are excellent innkeepers and their Afton Mountain B&B is truly exceptional. I feel that they would agree that Inn keeping is not a zero-sum game. One does not show loyalty to a particular B&B by giving a poor rating to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our anniversary is between Christmas and New Years and each year we go somewhere to celebrate. This year we chose the Brierley Hill B&B in Lexington, VA, great decision. The scenery is fabulous even in the winter, I can only imagine what it's like in the fall. Great food for breakfasts, quiet location, friendly staff, and the necessary amenities (Wifi in rooms and internet access in common area). The "Love Seat Suite" was quiet, peaceful, with a comfortable king bed; we had three restful nights sleep, just what was needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I came for a fall weekend getaway in the mountains. The refreshments available in the upstairs common area were very nice and welcomed. We stayed in the Wedgewood room with it's gorgeous view. After opening the shades the first morning I declared, "I could wake up to this everyday for the rest of my life and be a very happy girl." We left the shades open in the evenings after that to enjoy the night view, and getting to wake up to the mountains first thing in the morning.
All of the staff were very approachable and any question about the local area was answered with honesty. The location was nice because it was out of town enough to be private, yet close enough for convenience of shops, restaurants, and local attractions. We enjoyed our breakfasts and getting to meet Daisy the B&B's golden retriever.
The only down side to the local area was that many of the nice restaurants in Lexington were not open on Sunday. Other then that we really enjoyed our stay and will likely return when visiting the Lexington area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Everything was top quality, from food to linens to scenery!! The best! Would love to come back to this area and when we do we'll stay here again--and for more than two nights. Next time we'll bring the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only regret that we just stayed one night! Everything from room to breakfast was great!
Having a computer with internet access for guests was very nice as well. Our favorite breakfast on this trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just spent 3 nghts at Brierley Hill. I have two very conflicting reports on our stay.

We have stayed at many B&Bs and I know that you can't please everybody, so please read this for the good and the bad.

The positives: the home is fabulous. It's extremely clean, well presented and very comfortable. A lot of thought and care has gone into this residence to make guests feel at home.

However:

The negatives: I did not find our hosts as friendly and warm as reported in previous reviews. Conversation was quiet stunted. We made more conversation with the housekeeper than with our hosts.

If you are looking for a peaceful, low interactive hideaway with beautiful scenic views and tranquil environment, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a place where there is a lot of interaction, talk, discussion, then you will be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill b&b
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list