We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brierley Hill---beautil retreat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Brierley Hill---beautil retreat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Everything was top quality, from food to linens to scenery!! The best! Would love to come back to this area and when we do we'll stay here again--and for more than two nights. Next time we'll bring the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
239
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only regret that we just stayed one night! Everything from room to breakfast was great!
Having a computer with internet access for guests was very nice as well. Our favorite breakfast on this trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just spent 3 nghts at Brierley Hill. I have two very conflicting reports on our stay.

We have stayed at many B&Bs and I know that you can't please everybody, so please read this for the good and the bad.

The positives: the home is fabulous. It's extremely clean, well presented and very comfortable. A lot of thought and care has gone into this residence to make guests feel at home.

However:

The negatives: I did not find our hosts as friendly and warm as reported in previous reviews. Conversation was quiet stunted. We made more conversation with the housekeeper than with our hosts.

If you are looking for a peaceful, low interactive hideaway with beautiful scenic views and tranquil environment, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a place where there is a lot of interaction, talk, discussion, then you will be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took a romantic weekend away and we were delighted by the warm inviting home and welcoming proprietors and staff. The town of Lexington is charming to explore with excellent little bistros. If you are lucky you will see some of the VMI cadets and their dates. The B&B is surrounded by million dollar views. We had an excellent breakfast the next day. We plan to return again - the Brierley is one of our new found treasures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband came home from Afghanistan for a few days of R&R. This bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations on every level. The proprietors and staff made us feel like extended family. We couldn't help but begin to unwind and relax, and that was due to the people as well as the tranquil countryside. In the evening we were able to go outside on the porch with my daughter and her husband and watch a full moon poke through the clouds as we sipped wine. This is the sort of place that inspires poetry and art. Walking around old-town Lexington was almost like going back in time. We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: I don't think it's possible NOT to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This lovely home feels so warm and inviting but offers the most private accommodations for guests. It is in the most beautiful location with jaw-dropping views of the hills and pastures that surround. We ate breakfast both mornings on the lovely front porch. One of those mornings it misted rain, but of course the porch is covered, and the atmosphere was heavenly! The food was outstanding! Joyce takes great pride, not just in the food she prepares, but also the presentation. One thing that amazed me is the obvious attention to the details of the house. The furnishings and appointments were so lovely and so different. Every little what-knot, vase, picture, candlestick, etc. was so unique and well-placed. Ken and Joyce know everything about the surrounding community and can answer any questions about restaurants, activities, etc. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This B&B is top rated for good reason. The hosts are indeed polite and helpful without being intrusive. Ken was able to recommend hikes based on our preferences and the routes he recommended on the AT did turn out to be top notch with fantastic views. The breakfast cooked by Joyce is truly gourmet; tea is served in English porcelain pots kept warm with a tea cosy on crisp autumn mornings on the porch (you can have the breakfast inside if you like, but we preferred outside). The house itself is airy, light and nicely decorated. The Wedgwood room is suitable for families as it has a twin bed in addition to a king. The whole place is spotless and conveniences such as snacks, bottled water, tea and coffee are available all day. There are binders with guides to area hikes and restaurants, as well as many informative books and magazines available. Great place to stay and will return if in the area again. Perfect location for access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Natural Bridge, Luray Caverns, Shenadohah National Park, and the VA Appalachian Trail hikes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill b&b
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.