We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is the #1 B&B in Lexington for a reason - it's fabulous! The property is absolutely gorgeous, overlooking the mountains in the distance. It was built as a B&B in 1993, and everything still looks brand new. Our room - the Love Seat Suite - was beautifully decorated and spotless. Though we chose not to include the whirlpool tub and sitting area in our one-night stay, we saw how lovely they were and how nice they would be, especially if staying for a couple of nights. The breakfast was amazing - peach french toast, cheese grits, sausage, and a strawberry soup. Unbelievable! Most people chose to eat on the porch that morning, while my husband and I sat inside at a table for two with the mountains in the distance and lovely music as well. After breakfast we sat on the porch, just enjoying the peace and quiet. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast; I'm pretty sure we're spoiled for life. Don't hesitate to stay here - wonderful owners and staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
249
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I are frequent B&B visitors and the Brierley HIll B&B is definitely one of the top three that we have stayed at hands down. The food is out of this world, the staff is so friendly, and the accomodations are meticulous. The location has an absolutely gorgeous view and you are close enough to Lexington to easily jaunt into town, but far enough away that you truly feel like you're in the country. And Ken and Joyce are the penultimate hosts. Ken's knowledge of the hiking around the area and all the resources he has put together for it were invaluable and gave us a fantastic hike during our trip. Joyce knows all the restaurants in town and so you aren't left stumbling around an unfamiliar town trying to find a place to eat. And no detail was too small for them - down to the welcoming note in our room. We are definitely planning a return (and much longer stay) soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Close to, but just outside of Lexington.... could not ask for better location. The pictures you see are not fake or shot from a treetop somewhere -- this is from the grounds. Really nice guests..... we all talked together for hours the evening of our visit and at breakfast the next morning. Great, gourmet style breakfast. I don't like muffins bubt their lemon-poppyseed one was the bomb.
Only negative was that the shower water was only lukewarm. Sugarbear thought it was one of the best B&B's we have stayed at and we do a lot of select registry inns (this is one by the way).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed over this past Saturday night in the Good Friends Suite. The views there are worth the price of admission. The rooms and common areas are comfortable and well set up. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were pleasant and unobtrusive. We were very happy with this B&B. It is just outside of downtown Lexington and many good restaurants for dinner are nearby, even though the feel of the B&B is of being out in the country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Like our last visit a few years ago, everything went beyond expectations. Its all in the details..they say...andit is truly amazing the amount of them ...from the delicious breakfast that included cold fresh fruit soup and sausage that had tasty bits of pineapple, and the best hot chocolate i have ever had to the extent that i order it even in the summer...The rooms are impeccable ....better than than the perfect pictures on their website. This is the second time we have stayed here...a perfect place to relax...and as we did...used as 'home' as we explored the most interesting sights, sounds and history of the Lexington. And Stanton areas......

We are not done yet.......we will be back again for stay #3.......

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our stay at the Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast was a real treat. We stayed in the lovely Love suite which was romantically decorated and where we felt right at home. They have any and every thing provided that you could possibly want for an overnight stay.

The grounds, views and hospitality were exceptional and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast on the porch overlooking the mountains before having to leave. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a special, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Brierley Hill to celebrate our seventh wedding anniversary. We were looking for a place within an easy drive from our home in Vienna, Virginia. Since we prefer mountains to ocean, Brierley Hill was the perfect choice. I must say the bar was set very high based on other tripadvisor reviews. I am glad to say the reviews were correct. My review will only echo the other glowing reviews.

Undoubtedly the best part of Brierley Hill is the setting and the view. You will want to spend as much time as possible on their porch admiring the view or in the garden. It was so hard to drag ourselves off the porch to have dinner in town at night. I'm glad we had late reservations so we could make the most of that stunning view.

The room was also great. Everything was spotless. The cleaning staff obviously does a great job and takes lots of pride in their work. They are also extremely friendly. Our bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. Even though we slept in, we didn't hear a thing. Very rare in a fully booked bed and breakfast. If you're looking for quiet, the Once Upon a Time room was great.

I also highly recommend the town of Lexington. It's such a great little college town. There are plenty of things to see if you are a history buff. There are some great restaurants in town we really enjoyed. Brierley Hill also makes a great base for exploring the stunning Shenadoah Valley.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington
Brierley Hill b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.