We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at a beautiful B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking
Save Saved
You added Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking to your Saves list
242 Tarnbeck Lane, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time at a beautiful B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to the Applewood Inn Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful time. The owners are very nice and the place is very peaceful. Although we did not specify ahead of time, it was LGBT friendly. The owners, Chris and Linda greeted us when we arrived and were very friendly. The grounds are hilly and you can go into the llama pen if you choose to do so. They also allow you to walk the llamas for a very reasonable fee. There were two other couples there (both on their 2nd visit) and we had a delightful conversation over a delicious breakfast. I would definitely recommend it. My only complaint was that our room, the Quilt room, was close to the front door and a bit on the noisy side when people came inside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The inn was perfect for our holiday getaway. The inn seems so isolated, all we heard at night were tree frogs. So much better than hearing random trucks on a highway! Our room was large, it used to be two rooms but they remodeled it into one large room. The room came with a mini fridge with some sodas, and a coffee maker and a selection of coffee pods. Breakfast was provided in the inn's dining room. Pancakes, sausages and fruit. We did the llama trek in the morning after breakfast. It was about an hour long, I believe it was cut short because it was so humid. Nevertheless, I had a great time with the llamas and an hour seemed like the perfect duration. They had a pool, but we didn't have time to try it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridegefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night at the Applewood Inn on a road trip home from her college. It is a beautiful location and the llamas make it a unique stay. Chris & Linda were very nice and seemed genuinely interested in talking to us. We had a delicious breakfast and around the clock coffee, tea, soft drinks and cookies were available. Our room was clean and comfortable. This was my first stay at a bed & breakfast and I enjoyed it very much. The pool and grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A friend and I shared a room over the weekend with the couple who runs the Inn. Our room, the European, was a very small room, but installed with a small gas stove, it was very cozy. Our room sported a connected hottub, and access to the services of the inn. It was winter, so we did not take advantage of the Inn's amenities, but we enjoyed walking the grounds around it, and watching the llamas!
The food was a bit plain the first morning...waffles and fruit, but the following morning offered an excellent frittata and homemade jams. There was a self-service tea and coffee station that was well-stocked, which we enjoyed immensely! The couple was a touch reticent about socializing with us, the wife not speaking to us much at all, even when addressed, but the husband was very outgoing.
The house itself was very charming, and built of a unique construction which allows a contant flow of air around the house, keeping the temperatures quite comfortable. The hot tub was a real bomus as well!
Over all, the stay was very enjoyable, and the remoteness and scenery was delightful...we walked and walked near the river, and had encounters with wildlife, and horse enthusiasts. Destpite its remote feel, its not a far leap from the interstate to get to this hidden treasure, and plan on visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The positive reviews on TripAdvisor steered me to the Applewood, but I'll admit that some of them we're so gushy and positive that I was a bit skeptical. It couldn't be that perfect, could it?

Well, it is. The Applewood Inn is lovely, set on a hillside 2-3 miles outside of Lexington, in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The scenery is wonderful, it's quiet, and when you walk up the hill, you get a gorgeous 360 degree view.

Our rooms were beautiful without being overdone, quiet, perfectly clean, absolutely comfortable. Me and my friends had the two, and only, rooms on the first floor. We had gas stoves, and private enclosed porches off our rooms. One room had a big soaking bathtub, the other had a jacuzzi on the private porch. We had genuine patchwork work quilts on the beds, and comfortable furniture. There was a little bar between our rooms in the hall with a Kuerig coffee maker, a vast array of coffee, sugar and creamer, plus a little refrigerator.

On the second floor is the kitchen, with a nook with mugs and at least 30 kinds of tea that we could help ourselves to. The office, dining room and a common room / living room are also on the second floor. The innkeepers, Chris and Linda, live on the third floor, so it's very private and quiet for everyone.

We had two generous, tasty, healthy breakfasts during our stay, everything made from scratch - multigrain muffins and pancakes, veggie omelettes, fresh mixed fruit, fresh squeezed juice, good coffee. Linda and Chris are friendly and interesting, but not intrusive. They answered our questions about birds, trees, the mountains, local history and of course, llamas.

We loved our trek with the llamas. We had a leisurely two hour walk up and down the hills, through the trees and along a stream. The llamas are beautiful, calm and gentle. My friend and I are both photographers and Chris and Linda were very patient and helpful with us taking pictures of the llamas. We both want llamas now.

The inn is convenient to Lexington, where there are many good places to eat lunch and dinner. The inn is not at all hard to find, yet it felt very private and faraway. I'm so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were looking to get out of town for the long weekend and came across this place in our Google search. I'm so glad we did! Chris and Linda are super friendly, helpful, and welcoming, and their inn is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. And the location is beautiful - even in the middle of the winter. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The European has the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We loved Applewood Inn from the minute we saw it going up the driveway. The house was beautiful, the owner's welcoming and friendly and our room (Blue Ridge) was adorable. We loved the balcony with the mountain and llama view. Breakfast was delicious pumpkin pancakes, fruit, sausage and great conversation. It was a pleasure staying there and we felt as if we were visiting family. We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms that we know of so choosing shouldn't be a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking

Address: 242 Tarnbeck Lane, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 hilltop acres of woods and pastures surround Applewood Inn, providing 365 degree views of the Blue Ridge and Alleghenies. Three rooms all have queen beds, fireplaces, private baths, whirlpool or hot tub and private porches. All rooms are pet friendly and two will accommodate extra persons including children 8+. One of these is a suite sized room that will comfortably sleep four with in-room refrigerator, coffee maker and bar sink. A full hearty whole grain breakfast is included as well as complimentary snacks and beverages. Wonderful patios and gardens surround the inn along with a full sized in-ground swimming pool. Activities include swimming, hiking, fishing in Buffalo Creek, bird watching and exploring all the attractions of the Lexington area, including Natural Bridge, the Virginia Safari Park, the Virginia Horse Center, Washington and Lee University and two wineries and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.