We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking
Save
You added Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking to your Saves list
242 Tarnbeck Lane, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were looking to get out of town for the long weekend and came across this place in our Google search. I'm so glad we did! Chris and Linda are super friendly, helpful, and welcoming, and their inn is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. And the location is beautiful - even in the middle of the winter. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The European has the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We loved Applewood Inn from the minute we saw it going up the driveway. The house was beautiful, the owner's welcoming and friendly and our room (Blue Ridge) was adorable. We loved the balcony with the mountain and llama view. Breakfast was delicious pumpkin pancakes, fruit, sausage and great conversation. It was a pleasure staying there and we felt as if we were visiting family. We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms that we know of so choosing shouldn't be a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was heading to West Va for a conference and needed a place to stay en-route. The llama trekking caught my eye and the inn looked nice so I booked myself a room & a trek. The room was lovely- spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also large with a whirlpool tub. Right outside the door was a fridge filled with drinks, a coffee machine and a jar filled with cookies- sweet!

In the morning I checked out the pool area and the gardens- they both were beautiful.

The hosts- Chris and Linda were delightful. I arrived after dark and was a bit concerned about finding the place- but Chris gave me very specific directions and finding the inn was no problem at all. When I arrived Chris gave me a map of Lexington and several suggestions on where to have dinner. I chose Niko's Grille and had a pleasant meal with good food.

Breakfast was delicious- an apple/ham/cheese omelet with a cup of fresh fruit.

The llama trek was after breakfast and was fun. Basically a walk (leading a llama) up into the mountains with spectacular views and then down through the woods. Not too strenuous- just perfect for all ages and abilities. My llama Chaos was very well behaved- he stopped for an occasional nibble on a leaf but was more cooperative than most animals.

The inn is out of town and in a spectacular setting- my cell phone did not work on the property at all. But there was wireless access. Chris told me they have a dog but I never saw it nor did I see dog hair anywhere. For a brief stretch the road into the neighborhood is a single lane with a river on one side and a cliff on the other so you might want to drive more carefully there- the rest of the road is fine.

Room Tip: If you want to use the hot tub ask for the European room. If you want your own sitting room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We loved our stay! Chris and Linda are the nicest hosts ever :) we had the most lovely weekend, and we would love to come back and see the llamas!!! We stayed in the Blue Ridge room and had a lovely, romantic weekend. The llama trek took us through the scenic property, and provided a much-needed break from city life. Please go if you want to escape city life, and enjoy some R&R in the scenic Blue Ridge Mountains!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Applewood Inn is the perfect place if you really want to get away from it all. The accommodations were excellent and the innkeepers, Chris and Linda, were friendly and responsive to questions and requests. They provided the perfect balance of offering friendly conversation and providing guests privacy. We found the inn to be welcoming and immaculate with all of the comforts we could possibly ask for (healthy & tasty breakfasts coffeemaker, & WiFi). The pool and gazebo area are beautiful and provide a wonderfully relaxing respite. I had no idea what to expect on a llama trek but the animals were sweet and well behaved and Linda and Chris were very informative about the care and behavior of these fascinating creatures. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Applewood Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return for another visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. augustine fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Applewood Inn for only one night. Chris and Linda, the owners were very nice. Our room, on the first floor, was clean and roomy. We chose the Applewood Inn because of their location near the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as the fact that they allow dogs. We have a very well-behaved Golden Retriever, Tessie, who often travels with us. I was pleasantly surprised to see beautiful artwork by Linda adorning the walls-- it gave the Inn such a personal touch. The setting is beautiful and walking up the hill in back of their home is picturesque. I liked the fact that they didn't allow smoking inside their Inn as I am not fond of stale cigarette smoke, which permeates a room once someone smokes in it. After telling Chris that we prefer "heart healthy" meals, Chris made us hearty, healthy waffles-- not with the normal white flour ingredients. They were very tasty. We highly recommend the Applewood Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Despite losing power for 3 days due to a line of incredibly strong thunderstorms, Linda and Chris made our promised summertime return to Applewood Inn special for my wife's birthday vacation. With flowers and birthday cake in our room upon arrival, and the Inn cool with newly restored air-conditioning due to the storms, our 4 nights there with our dogs Fizz and Jake was the respite that we were looking for. The pool was crystal clear and a wonderful way to survive the almost 100 degree temperatures during our visit. Chris and Linda spent many hours in the unrelenting heat clearing trees and debris from their property and the pool to get it ready for their guest once the electricity was restored on Monday night....just prior to our arrival on Tuesday. The town of Lexington was hit and miss with power and we were glad that we had brought along our normal picnic supplies so that we were not forced to venture into town to search for a resturant that had power and was open. And with a 4th of July poolside cookout at the Inn, we really didn't lack for anything other than ice for our cooler....and that was supplied by the local Walmart, which had the only ice in town.

Visits to the local winery (Rockbridge), Blue Ridge Parkway, and working stone grist mill (Wade's Mill) was a perfect way to spend my wife's birthday as we stocked up on wine, grits and flour, and views/vistas until we can return again to this beautiful area of our home state of Virginia.

Our dogs enjoyed seeing all of the rabbits during their walks on the property and their nose-to-nose visits with the llamas. We enjoyed the pool, our dinner, the always delicious breakfasts, fireworks seen from the hill, and the delightful company of the Bests. And of course the wonderful Blue Ridge room with all of the joys and comforts of home (refrigerator, wet bar, Kuerig coffee maker, flat screen TV, three ceiling fans, double sink bathroom with whirlpool tub, and a great mattress) in this unique country inn/bed and breakfast. The Bests went out of their way to ensure our visit was spectacular, despite nature's wrath, and we certainly appreciate their efforts. We will return as soon as our schedule allows, as the Applewood Inn has turned into our dog-friendly 'home-away-from-home'.

Room Tip: Blue Ridge Room is the largest and perfect for people with dogs or families as it has a sleeper sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
6.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
7.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking

Address: 242 Tarnbeck Lane, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 hilltop acres of woods and pastures surround Applewood Inn, providing 365 degree views of the Blue Ridge and Alleghenies. Three rooms all have queen beds, fireplaces, private baths, whirlpool or hot tub and private porches. All rooms are pet friendly and two will accommodate extra persons including children 8+. One of these is a suite sized room that will comfortably sleep four with in-room refrigerator, coffee maker and bar sink. A full hearty whole grain breakfast is included as well as complimentary snacks and beverages. Wonderful patios and gardens surround the inn along with a full sized in-ground swimming pool. Activities include swimming, hiking, fishing in Buffalo Creek, bird watching and exploring all the attractions of the Lexington area, including Natural Bridge, the Virginia Safari Park, the Virginia Horse Center, Washington and Lee University and two wineries and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.