We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge
603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed twice at the Lodge and completely enjoyed both experiences. The combination of the beautiful scenery of historic Lexington and our stay at the Llewellyn Lodge made both weekends very memorable. John greeted us both times with his warm southern hospitality and met our every need. The lodge is located within walking distance of the town's main area which allows you to really get a feel for the beautiful nook. The lodge was a "cozy" spot for us to return to with all it's comforts that gave us a great nights sleep. We can't say enough about the Llewellyn Lodge and look forward to our future visits!

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    9
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
86
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A gem of a place. John went above and beyond great customer service to always make sure my friend and I were comfortable. Breakfast is individually and lovingly prepared. The whole house is full of fluffy and well-kept furniture. Grounds are pretty. John was extremely personable and helpful in giving us personal tips on local attractions/restaurants. Reasonably priced. Great location near downtown. Would highly recommend it to anyone. No pool or gym but that's fine, there is lots of active/outdoors stuff to do nearby.

Room Tip: Just book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wow! Where to begin? My 13 year old daughter and I decided last minute to stop in Lexington, Va during our road trip. Hotel fees in the area and surrounding areas were quite high due to a fair that was in town. Not only was this little B&B prices better than the local hotels, the service far surpassed anything I have ever encountered. With no reservations, we stopped by to see if they had vacancy. John told his to follow him as he showed us a beautifully appointed room with 2 double beds and en suite bathroom with shower. The softest sheets I have ever felt were on a bed that was quite possibly more comfortable than my own! AC was nice and cool and we slept like logs! My daughter didn't even want to wake up for Johns fantastic breakfast. Let me tell you, she missed out! This B&B has a menu, folks. You get to pick from belgian waffles with fresh fruit from the area, made to order omelletes with my local ingredients. And if you are on a special diet they will accomadate! Only half awake, I stumbled downstairs and John immediately fixed me a couple of coffee that I enjoyed on front porch! This place is a home away from home. It will be hard to compare with this, anywhere! **Also, see my review for Cafe Michel, a local restaurant that was recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Llewellyn Lodge is a perfect choice when visiting Lexington and you are tired of the big impersonal chains. It was comfortable, convenient and reasonable. John, the innkeeper, fixes a dynamite breakfast and is a knowledgeable and expert fishing guide. The Inn is located near both W&L and VMI colleges for those who are visiting for that reason. Highly recommended by all in our group after a recent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this comfortable B & B. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast each day was tasty and well prepared with a good selection of food and drink. John, our host, was a font of information about area attractions and dining establishments. He went out of his way to make our stay - and that of fellow guests - a positive experience.

The B & B is located on Lexington's main thoroughfare and is only a short walk from the historic downtown. An even shorter walk takes guests to the cemetary where Stonewall Jackson is buried. Nearby attractions include Stonewall Jackson's residence*, the Lee Chapel at Washington & Lee *, the Virginia Military Institute (VMI) museum and post tour **, the Virginia Horse Center, and a myriad of quaint shops and restaurants.

We had a wonderful visit and thank John for his warm hospitality. We would highly recommend Llewellyn Lodge.

* The dedicated staff at both make your visit enlightening and well worth the effort.
** The post tour with a Keydet is an informative and interesting experience that will renew your faith in the younger generation. So too will watching a full dress parade of the corps on the parade ground, a treat we were fortunate to experience.

Room Tip: We deliberately chose a room without a TV. This was really nice because we got more time to talk an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being from the Northwest, we are always so impressed when we run into the highest levels of true southern hospitality...and that is exactly what my wife and I found at Llewellyn Lodge for two nites this week....The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the breakfasts gourmet and delicious with great choices, and the home itself well situated in a beautiful neighborhood of grand older homes, walking distance to the restaurants downtown and famous history attractions also(Stonewall Jackson burial cemetary)...the highlight of the stay however resides in John our host, who gave us lots of special attention and great advice on outdoor activities, like hikes, that we normally wouldn't have discovered on our own! John has a wonderful warm and charming way to greet and host guests which made us feel literally right at home...you really can't find a better option for a wonderful stay in picturesque and welcoming Lexington, Virginia.

Room Tip: corner suite was large and bright on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped here for one night on the way to and from Asheville from the DC area. A small B&B with a delightful host - John. Lovely personally cooked breakfast, and comfortable room. Lexington is a small town, but worth a walk-around visit. If you are in the area for nature, John will be your person for advice about what to do and where to go. We unfortunately were 'just passing through'.

Room Tip: We asked for Room 4 since we had been told it was the largest. We are both tall people, and it work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

Address: 603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient in-town location of the Lodge makes it the perfect home base to explore Lexington. Full Blue Ribbon breakfasts from a menu. Your host John is a Lexington native. Easy walk to all the restaurants, museums, Washington & Lee University, VMI, and shops. Expert hiking, advice scenic drive info, guided fly-fishing trips, golf, canoeing. Private baths, large screen High-Def TVs. comfortable beds. Walk ins Welcomed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge to your Saves list