We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Lexington, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge
Save
You added A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge to your Saves list
603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience Lexington, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this comfortable B & B. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast each day was tasty and well prepared with a good selection of food and drink. John, our host, was a font of information about area attractions and dining establishments. He went out of his way to make our stay - and that of fellow guests - a positive experience.

The B & B is located on Lexington's main thoroughfare and is only a short walk from the historic downtown. An even shorter walk takes guests to the cemetary where Stonewall Jackson is buried. Nearby attractions include Stonewall Jackson's residence*, the Lee Chapel at Washington & Lee *, the Virginia Military Institute (VMI) museum and post tour **, the Virginia Horse Center, and a myriad of quaint shops and restaurants.

We had a wonderful visit and thank John for his warm hospitality. We would highly recommend Llewellyn Lodge.

* The dedicated staff at both make your visit enlightening and well worth the effort.
** The post tour with a Keydet is an informative and interesting experience that will renew your faith in the younger generation. So too will watching a full dress parade of the corps on the parade ground, a treat we were fortunate to experience.

Room Tip: We deliberately chose a room without a TV. This was really nice because we got more time to talk an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    12
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
95
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being from the Northwest, we are always so impressed when we run into the highest levels of true southern hospitality...and that is exactly what my wife and I found at Llewellyn Lodge for two nites this week....The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the breakfasts gourmet and delicious with great choices, and the home itself well situated in a beautiful neighborhood of grand older homes, walking distance to the restaurants downtown and famous history attractions also(Stonewall Jackson burial cemetary)...the highlight of the stay however resides in John our host, who gave us lots of special attention and great advice on outdoor activities, like hikes, that we normally wouldn't have discovered on our own! John has a wonderful warm and charming way to greet and host guests which made us feel literally right at home...you really can't find a better option for a wonderful stay in picturesque and welcoming Lexington, Virginia.

Room Tip: corner suite was large and bright on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped here for one night on the way to and from Asheville from the DC area. A small B&B with a delightful host - John. Lovely personally cooked breakfast, and comfortable room. Lexington is a small town, but worth a walk-around visit. If you are in the area for nature, John will be your person for advice about what to do and where to go. We unfortunately were 'just passing through'.

Room Tip: We asked for Room 4 since we had been told it was the largest. We are both tall people, and it work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nites at Llewellyn Lodge , the experience was delightful . John made us feel right at home from the beginning . His knowledge of the area was extremely helpful in making day plans . The Breakfast was delicious both days and the room was very clean and comfortable . We will most certainly be visiting again !
Randall , Madison Heights Va

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had to attend an out of town wedding in Lexington. The bride's parents gave me a list of hotels they had blocked rooms at but none of them had the favored reviews of Llewellyn Lodge. John was the best host and oh so friendly! He really did make it feel like home. He even carried some of our luggage up to the room. He was the most gracious host and attentive to our needs. The room and bathroom were perfect (I was in room #5). The beds were awesome. I have lower back problems and this bed was wonderful for me. I liked the way they have a dining room for breakfast because it was nice to meet our fellow guests. My only regret is not being able to stay longer to take in all the beauty the region had to offer. If I ever make it back to Lexington there is no doubt I will be back to see John at Llewellyn Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The B&B is a beautiful home with very comfortable beds, a spacious bath, and OUTRAGEOUSLY great breakfasts! John is very knowledgable about the area and very willing to help you plan out your time. It's a pleasant walk into downtown, which you need after eating breakfast. We didn't eat lunch either day because breakfast was so filling! We had a great time and would stay at Llewellyn again - Thanks John!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a very comfortable king bed and a spacious bathroom. If you are a light sleeper and some...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Llewellyn Lodge. It was our first visit to Lexington Va and we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. The linens on the bed and the pillows were so comfortable that we found it hard to get out of bed. We were awakened each morning by the aroma of sizzling bacon and aromatic coffee. The full breakfast, cooked to order, was delectable. John and Ellen were excellent hosts. They saw to all our needs and wants. They gave great guidance concerning restaurants and attractions nearby. John is quite the conversationalist while Ellen is quite the cook...an excellent combination! When we return to the charming town of Lexington VA, we will definitely be staying at the Llewellyn Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

Address: 603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient in-town location of the Lodge makes it the perfect home base to explore Lexington. Full Blue Ribbon breakfasts from a menu. Your host John is a Lexington native. Easy walk to all the restaurants, museums, Washington & Lee University, VMI, and shops. Expert hiking, advice scenic drive info, guided fly-fishing trips, golf, canoeing. Private baths, large screen High-Def TVs. comfortable beds. Walk ins Welcomed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.