We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and John's company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge
Save
You added A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge to your Saves list
603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and John's company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The B&B is a beautiful home with very comfortable beds, a spacious bath, and OUTRAGEOUSLY great breakfasts! John is very knowledgable about the area and very willing to help you plan out your time. It's a pleasant walk into downtown, which you need after eating breakfast. We didn't eat lunch either day because breakfast was so filling! We had a great time and would stay at Llewellyn again - Thanks John!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a very comfortable king bed and a spacious bathroom. If you are a light sleeper and some...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
92
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Llewellyn Lodge. It was our first visit to Lexington Va and we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. The linens on the bed and the pillows were so comfortable that we found it hard to get out of bed. We were awakened each morning by the aroma of sizzling bacon and aromatic coffee. The full breakfast, cooked to order, was delectable. John and Ellen were excellent hosts. They saw to all our needs and wants. They gave great guidance concerning restaurants and attractions nearby. John is quite the conversationalist while Ellen is quite the cook...an excellent combination! When we return to the charming town of Lexington VA, we will definitely be staying at the Llewellyn Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent two nights while in Lexington visiting my daughter at W&L. My room was very comfortable and welcoming. John greeted me by name at breakfast and introduced me to the guests already there - a very nice touch. Then he brought me a steaming cup of coffee and kept it full while I enjoyed a delicious breakfast (and fun conversation with several other guests). It is a pleasant walking distance to town and John can tell you everything you need/want to know about everything there is to do in the area. Really! Just a super experience overall and I look forward to returning to John and Ellen's lovely B&B as often as possible in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We never get tired of hearing from our guests who have had an excellent time staying with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write about it. Repeat visitors make up a huge part of 28 year old business here and we look forward to having you again for sure. Llewellyn Lodge is inspected and approved by the Bed and Breakfast Association of Virginia along with AAA-( the Lodge is 3 Diamonds) and the state of Virginia Health Department. Not all of the B&Bs listed in Lexington have these inspections, we do recommend all guests checking to make sure the inns they plan to stay in are inspected before booking. John & Ellen Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay here. We had room #2, which is small, but worked fine for us. If you are larger or have a lot of luggage, this is not the room for you. They have larger rooms that would be great. The room fit two of us and two large suitcases pretty well. The shower is quite small, but very clean. The whole place was very clean! The breakfast is made to order from a menu with occasional surprises such as the delicious French toast casserole we had. John suggested some great day trips that were perfect for what we needed. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this if you are a fan of bed and breakfast experiences.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We are so glad you had an excellent time here at the Lodge, we sure hope to see you again. Room 2 is our smallest room and is an economical favorite for those guests traveling light and needing an extremely comfortable bed after a long day of traveling. All of our rooms have free high speed internet and our separate guest computer has a printer for free guest usage like copying boarding passes, etc. We do keep up to date menus here for guest to peruse as thet plan for a nice dining experience. John & Ellen Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at this wonderful B and B in Lexington, Va. We were so pleased with the accommodations and the innkeepers, John and Ellen Roberts, made us feel like we were right at home. They were wonderful hosts and by the end of our stay we felt like we had made new friends. A full breakfast each morning got our day off to a good start before exploring this quaint, historic town. The location was so convenient to everything we wanted to do. In the evening the living room and dining room were great for family activities. We highly recommend this B and B to others and will definitely stay at Llewellyn Lodge again when we are in the area. Barbara S

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just spend a few wonderful days in this charming B&B in Lexington, VA. Innkeepers John and Ellen Roberts could not have been more welcoming--the rooms were vey comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. This is a great location in Lexington--an easy walk into town and to points of interest. I look forward to a return visit for more warm Southern hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dona,
We are so glad you had a great time here last week. October with all of its foliage colors and perfect temps in the upper 60's to mid 70's with cooler mornings is hard to beat. Color in the coming days will be around every corner as the foliage really cranks up in the 1075 elevations to the 2000 elevations. We sure hope to see you again, our guests meeting with other family members always find lots to see and do in Historic Lexington. One of our greatest pleasures in doing this business for 28 years has been being a small part of our guests' happiest times. Thanks again for staying with us. John & Ellen Roberts - Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Llewellen Lodge and want everyone to know this is a wonderful B&B. My wife and I were there as part of a 12 person reunion of my cousins. The lodge and Lexington were a great place for the reunion. The breadfast table was a perfect setting for all our games at night and the living room worked well as the central gathering place. The innkeepers, John and Ellen, were awesome and breakfast was to die for. They could not have been nicer, more accomodating, or more fun.

The Lodge is within easy walking distance of downtown, the Stonewall Jackson cemetary, and the visitor center. Lexington is a beautiful town with a rich heritage, and lots to do. Both VMI and Washington & Lee University are also within walking distance and are definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear jls,
Reunions are always fun to host whether they are small or larger ones, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay here. Details are important in hosting them and we do try our dead level best to make sure nothing is left out. From day one we have tried to make breakfasts something to look forward to here at the Lodge and they have brought brought many a repeat visitor here. Offering different choices of omelettes, cheeses, cereals, healthfare, teas , etc. has always been well received by Llewellyn Lodge visitors. We look forward to seeing y'all again. John & Ellen Roberts. Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

Address: 603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient in-town location of the Lodge makes it the perfect home base to explore Lexington. Full Blue Ribbon breakfasts from a menu. Your host John is a Lexington native. Easy walk to all the restaurants, museums, Washington & Lee University, VMI, and shops. Expert hiking, advice scenic drive info, guided fly-fishing trips, golf, canoeing. Private baths, large screen High-Def TVs. comfortable beds. Walk ins Welcomed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.