We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Lexington!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge
Save
You added A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge to your Saves list
603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Cape Carteret, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Lexington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Lexington and we really enjoyed staying at Llewellyn Lodge. John is a great host. He's local (a true native) and probably has more information about the area than the local visitor's center! The inn is located in a lovely residential setting conveniently within walking distance to VMI and W&L University, historic sites, shops, and restaurants. John prepares a delicious breakfast which guests select from a menu of items, a little different approach from the other B&Bs we've visited. We enjoyed our early morning coffee on the front porch, while other guests chose to have theirs in the gazebo behind the lodge. The inn is tastefully decorated, our bathroom was roomy, the towels were plush, the beds and linens were very comfortable, and with John's hospitality as a bonus amenity, our stay at Llewellyn Lodge was a real pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your staying with us as well taking the time to write this review of the Lodge. As a native Lexingtonian it is always a a special delight to me to give guests some special insight into my hometown. When guests see all there is to do around here many will either extend their stay or book at a stay in the future. Having lots of tourist info that includes historical, hiking, attractions, colleges, culture, natural beauty, scenic drives and much more is an ongoing mission here. The upcoming foliage season is always a big reason to visit Lexington and our Lodge. John Roberts- Innkeeper-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
92
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince William County, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was fortunate to find the Llewellyn Lodge in Lexington, Virginia when I was searching the list of hotels, motels and Bed and Breakfasts. The thought of staying in the historical and lovely town of Lexington and this particularly welcoming B&B appealed to me. The town offers a variety of restaurants, historical sites and a range of activities.

The night before I arrived in town, a terrible storm swept through the area and caused a number of neighborhoods to lose their electricity. The Llewellyn Lodge was located in one of the fortunate neighborhoods that had their electricity that weekend.

The inn offered a warm, comfortable, secure setting. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast included an award-winning omelet by the proprietor himself. The guests gathered around the dining table for breakfast and we enjoyed each other’s company while enjoying the fine fare. I knew before the weekend was over, that I would be back at the Llewellyn Lodge during my next visit to Lexington, Virginia.

Room Tip: Lexington is a wonderful town to walk in and around. The Llewellyn Lodge is close enough to walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about your stay at Llewellyn, everyone was very understanding the night the freak windstorm came calling and knocked our power off for a bit. Our proximity to Virginia Military Institute and Washington & Lee University makes our location the perfect spot to stay for our college visitors. John & Ellen Roberts- Owner-Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is my second stay at the Llewellyn Lodge, and I will be back! It is lovely, comfortable, hospitable, and warm - and John Roberts, the Lodge's host, is wonderful. I have two children currently enrolled at Washington and Lee, and the Lodge is a perfect location for my visits. I am also planning to look into booking a weekend in the fall to go fly fishing - something offered by John and the Lodge. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We reserved 3 rooms for 3 nights, July 25-28, 2012! We had 4 motorcycles and a support vehicle. We had never been to Lexington, VA and we were absolutely happy with this town and the history that surrounds it!! John, our host, was very helpful in making sure we had something to drink on our arrival and was most accommodating to whatever we needed, even down to tin foil to wrap around our water bottles that we tucked in our saddle bags! The breakfast was great! We took snack foods with us on our rides and were content to eat our dinner when we arrived back in Lexington. Monticello was only 1 hr and 20 mins away, Walton's Mountain was on the return trip back to Lexington, and we even caught a nice ride down the Blue Ridge Parkway, (except for some bad pot holes)! The next day, we spent walking around the town of Lexington! So much civil war history in a beautiful setting! John was very helpful in giving advise from motorcycle rides to restaurants. Beds were so comfortable, and rooms were beautiful! Will be making a return visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms do not have a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us and our readers. We take breakfast very seriously here at the Lodge, no B&Bs we know have menus where you get to pick what what you want for breakfast. Our bedding is Kingsdown, widely known in lodging circles as some most comfortable in the industry. We have several scenic drives detailed in our Special Guest Info books here most appropriate for motorcyclists and auto drivers as well. Come see us and we will make sure you get your money's worth here in Lexington. We look forward to having y'all again. John & Ellen Roberts Owners-Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hospitality was exceptional and the food well worth getting out of bed for. John is the true gentleman Host with the most helpful manner. Look forward to returning to such a cordial and welcoming Home away from Home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nice home, really friendly host (John Roberts) and terrific breakfast - what more could you ask for from a B&B (maybe tips on fly fishing or local sites to visit from a long time local - all available). We spent lots of time talking to John about the house, the town and his history and interests. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Bathrooms were tiny so if you're king size ask about different room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights and had the best experiences of our life! The location is perfect: tucked away in a quiet neighborhood with great access to main roads and about a 10 minute walk from downtown Lexington. The quality of the room and house was fantastic; everything was spotless and well kept. But the big differentiator was John. He was an absolutely incredible host, always with a smile on his face and a wealth of information about the area at his disposal. He helped us set up some great adventures, had wonderful stories of the history of the town and inn, and also cooked a fantastic breakfast each morning for us. The other guests at the inn were very sociable and we walked away having made a few new friends! I also can't believe how affordable the rooms were considering the great level of service and quality.

If you love to be outdoors, kayak, or like exploring old towns with lots of antiques, or just need a break from the hustle and bustle of the District, I'd highly recommend the Llewellyn Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge

Address: 603 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient in-town location of the Lodge makes it the perfect home base to explore Lexington. Full Blue Ribbon breakfasts from a menu. Your host John is a Lexington native. Easy walk to all the restaurants, museums, Washington & Lee University, VMI, and shops. Expert hiking, advice scenic drive info, guided fly-fishing trips, golf, canoeing. Private baths, large screen High-Def TVs. comfortable beds. Walk ins Welcomed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bed and Breakfast at Llewellyn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.