We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for college visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Willow Springs Road, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450-2949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Wirtz, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great for college visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during a college tour of mid-Va colleges. The lobby was nice, check-in staff were attentive and friendly, and the rooms and hallways were clean, well-lit and quiet. We felt very safe and comfortable here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit. We work closely with the area colleges on all their events. If your daughter does choose a college in the area please let me know if I can help with any future reservations. Parents weekends and other dates can be hard to find hotel rooms and I would be happy to help. Please contact me @ bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com or @ 540-464-1500. Our entire stay strives to offer the best stay possible. We hope see you again soon.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    80
    30
    19
    7
See reviews for
102
69
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lobby is very nice but the rooms are tired. Our door looked like someone had tried to kick it in and we had to slam it to get it shut. We could also hear footsteps above us and voices in the next rooms. Definitely not worth the money we paid. They do have a nice restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize that there were problems with your stay. We strive for excellence and we fell short during your visit. If I can ever be of assistance please contact me @ 540-464-1500 or @ bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com. Our room décor is showing its age, we will be updating those areas over the next 6-12 months. I will have our staff correct the problem with your door. I am glad you enjoyed our new restaurant The Jolly Ox. We hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daman24
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been staying here for several years twice a year for horse shows. We like its location and pet friendliness. They have really made improvements since our last visit. Updated the bathrooms, added a fitness room and we love the free bottled water. The pool and free beverage area 24-7 is nice for our kids. Great staff, they always remember my name. See you again in October!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about you stay with us. We try to offer new amenities and updated features. Our staff cares about our guests and it shows. If I can be of any help please contact me at Bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com or @ 540-464-1500. We get a lot of people coming to the Virginia Horse Center and even offer a special rate for those attending those shows. I am happy you have been staying with us for years and if you ever need anything please let me know.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The man who checked us in gave us a complimentary upgrade on our room. The swim through indoor/outdoor pool is cool, and the room was nice. The pool area needed weeded BADLY, and the beds were quite uncomfortable (hard).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am happy that you were able to get an upgrade. I apologize that the beds were too hard and the outside pool area was no kept up. We strive for excellence but we dropped the ball with your stay. If I can be of any help in the future please contact me @ bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com or @ 540-464-1500. We will be replacing the last few older beds this fall. I’m glad that you enjoyed the pool, it is an unique area. We hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel based on the other positive reviews from TripAdvisor, which have never steered me wrong. When we checked into our room, we pulled up the TripAdvisor site again because we thought we had the wrong hotel. It's only then that we closely read the negative reviews, which were spot on. This hotel is dirty, old, and not at all what I would expect from a Best Western. There was pink slime in the bathtub (which even my kids noticed), hair on the floor, dead bugs and crumbs in the corners of the room, the coffee maker tray had black slime that I didn't notice until I went to get a cup and the plastic was black with slime. The furniture was cheap furniture that was starting to come apart. I don't need fancy, but I do need clean, and seriously question whether our room had been cleaned in a week. When I walked the halls, I saw it was the same thing everywhere, so there was not much point in asking for another room. There were dead bugs hanging from the lighting grates above the room, dirt and crumb in the halls, and the carpet was unraveling in many places. It is the closest I have ever come to walking out of a hotel and if it had not been so late at night, I would have. Do not stay at this hotel. Pay the money to stay at a nicer one or keep driving to another town. I am surprised that Best Western calls this a Plus, let alone allows their name to be on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I would like to get more information as to the exact room you occupied and the night of your stay. I have been at this hotel several times in the past few weeks and have not witnessed any of the negative issues you mention. Please contact me directly at cia@rbnet.com or 540-992-4077 so I can get more details.
Thank you,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Good size well appointed rooms in a nice facility. It is "high end Best Western" and a good value. Breakfast, which I haven't tried yet, is included.

Not much more to say, it is much better than average.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Lexington. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. If I can be of any assistance please contact me @ 540-464-1500 or @ bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com. We strive to keep the property up to date and clean, offering the finest customer service in the area. I hope you also enjoyed the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We came to tour W&L, so needed a hotel close by. (We got a great deal by booking with a third party.) Upon entering, we were warmly greeted by the hostess who told us how to get to the school and she explained how the downtown was 'laid out', which was very helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. "Ms Z" made an awesome pot of coffee and was so sweet when I met her the next morning! Breakfast was filling and the person working was very attentive to those who were dining. If our son chooses this school, we will surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words. We strive to offer the best stay in Lexington. If your son does go to Washington and Lee please let me know some of the school dates such as parents weekend, and homecoming can be hard to find a room. I will be happy to help just contact me @ bestwesternlexington@yahoo.com or @ 540-464-1500. Our restaurant re-opened today which we hope you will try on your next visit. We will also be doing further updates this winter. We hope to see you again.

Jonathan Burns CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge

Address: 25 Willow Springs Road, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450-2949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lexington
#2 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Virginia hotel's service & amenities enhance the historic Lexington experience! The Best Western Inn at Hunt Ridge is a stately hotel located close to historic Lexington, providing the highest service and accommodation to both leisure and business guests. Stay connected with free high speed Internet, available in every room. Be sure to take time to cool off at the indoor and outdoor pool located on the premises! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Hunt Ridge Hotel Lexington
Best Western Lexington
Lexington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.