We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georges
Save
You added The Georges to your Saves list
11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy One, Get One
Ranked #3 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I made the trip to Lexington to celebrate his birthday and cannot wait to return! We originally booked the queen room and once arrived upgraded to the king room, and we are so happy we did. The queen room was just as charming as the other rooms but a little small. The king room we ended up in was perfect. Enough space to relax and spend time in without breaking the bank. Decor is beautiful, and while modern, still maintains a small town feel. The bathroom was top-notch, complete with heated towel racks, heated floors and a soaking tub.

The Georges is worth a trip to Lexington!!

Room Tip: The queen room that we originally booked was a bit small; charming and beautiful but small. We upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids) spent two nights at the Georges around New Years. The room and beds were excellent. I don't usually sleep well away from home but I actually did here! The small touches were everywhere from the heated bathroom floor to the hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows in the afternoon. The scones at breakfast were the best that I have had. I hope to come back again.

Room Tip: We had a mid-priced room and it was very nicely sized for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is efficient & friendly & the location is prime. The Georges boutique hotel has it all! The only downside? It is a boutique hotel so the number of available rooms is limited. :(

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gentle southern charm and hospitality;
Gorgeous rooms, common areas and restaurants;
Genuinely thoughtful and attentive staff;
Truly amazing food.
And, this is all true -- I'm really hard to please and have found this experience at each of more than five stays at The Georges.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The rooms are generous and comfortable with first class amenities. Dinner in Haywood's is fun, with piano music and an active bar, and the menu has many exceptionally good dishes. We had a nice healthy breakfast at Taps. Also, Lexington provides a great setting with small town appeal and good walking trails. Look forward to returning to The Georges.

Room Tip: Saw # 2,#3, and #8 and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Beautiful rooms and wonderful staff! The restaurant served fresh and delicious meals, some of the best breakfast bacon and scones I've ever had. The hot chocolate, marshmallows, and cookies by the door were such a welcoming touch. A wonderful historic building that is beautifully furnished!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The rooms are nicer than home. Attention to detail, comfort, amenities are all above five star quality. Heated floors in the bathroom, very large tubs, high end electronics, incredibly comfortable bed. It's worth traveling to Lexington just to stay at this Gem of a hotel. For fine dining, the hotel restaurant Heywood's is impeccable. The piano bar is old school and will delight young and old. We have stayed here twice already and look forward to many more stays. Lexington is a Very charming town as well, nestled in the heart of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georges

Address: 11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georges occupies two buildings on opposite sides of Main Street in Lexington, Virginia, a special town steeped in history and, for us, many wonderful memories. Located in the heart of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley, Lexington is truly a small-town escape. The Georges embodies the history and charm that defines Lexington. Our boutique inn is a blend of historic architecture and luxurious, yet casual guestrooms and suites with lovely views, and lavish amenities. The Georges is home to Haywood's Restaurant and TAPS Lobby Lounge featuring locally grown, seasonal ingredients thoughtfully prepared by Chef Chris Jack and his culinary team. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.