We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lexington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Owensboro, KY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This a nice inside hotel at an affordable price. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. It is close to the interstate and next to a quick mart for fueling and snacks. The breakfast was filling with a great variety to choose from. I will definitely stay here again on our travels to see the grand kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Holiday Inn Express. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you make another trip to visit your grand kids.
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    27
    9
    13
See reviews for
60
38
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littlestown, PA United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose the Holiday Inn Express of Lexington, VA as the place we wanted to go for a couple of days to treat ourselves on our 50th wedding anniversary. Tom Osella and Grace Holstein outdid themselves in preparing our accommodations and seeing to it that we were treated royally - a suite, champagne with flutes, a beautiful card, great rates, and our own little newly-wed rubber duckies (you had to be there to understand!). We stay here often and have grown to love the hotel and its staff, the town of Lexington, and the Shenandoah Valley. Even our pup, Alfie, is well-received and known here. This HI Express is our home away from home and we just thoroughly enjoy coming here to relax and get away from it all. Y'all are invited to do the same!

Room Tip: Call ahead and let the staff know your likes and dislikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
First off, Happy 50th Anniversary! We are glad you continue to come visit Tom and Grace and all of the HI Express staff. We are glad we are your home away from home and your 50th anniversary was something to go home and brag about. We can’t wait to see you next time!
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for just one night in route to Southern West Virginia. A very nice property, well kept and very clean. The rooms was very spacious and comfortable and we had a very pleasant evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast was hot, well-stocked and much better than the standard fare at some other chains. Especially like the warm cinnamon buns!

Would sure stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I would first like to thank you for noticing we are not like other chains. IHG prides themselves on being different in a lot of different ways including our breakfast! I am glad you had plenty of space in our rooms. I hope your trip to Southern WV was wonderful! If you are passing through this area on your way back through be sure to stop in and stay with us again!
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had no reservation. The ladies that greeted me were very nice..but sad to inform me they were full....EXCEPT the one cancellation that just came in..of a king size smoking room. Talk about a blessing! Hubby and I enjoyed the clean room with the duck splash! I enjoyed a smoke. YES I said it..There are alot of us smokers out there on the road that would like a nice clean room to sleep in! tyvm! It was just a great stay and for a business to run that well it was a total team work..bottom line...thats what its all about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are excited you enjoyed your smoking room. We do still offer smoking rooms for those guests who do smoke. We want all of our guests to be comfortable. We hope if you are back in the area you will be sure to stop in and stay with us!
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Front desk staff and maids are customer oriented, which is very important to me.
Hotel was very clean. Room and bathroom were larger than most - room had desk with chair, plus two armchairs.
Bathroom had fan and fantastic water pressure.
Breakfast room was nice and open with a big window, but the food was a bit below average... my bagel was dry and the 'omelette thingy' was filled with I do not know what... There was bacon and there were individual containers of yogurt, which was nice, but I wish hotels would offer nonfat yogurt cups, too.
Hotel is back from road behind Applebees and Best Western, so noise from street traffic is not an issue; I was awakened, however, by the radio alarm in the room above and could hear that person cough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and will return. I want to thank you for your review and stay with us. Thank you for your thoughts on the breakfast bar and we will take them into considerations. We can’t wait till you are back in Lexington and can stay with us again.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pet friendly, clean and updated rooms. We were pleasantly surprised, not being sure what to expect in a pet friendly hotel. There was a nice area outside to walk your dog. Breakfast was nice - fresh fruit and yogurt would have been a nice addition. The only annoyance to many of us, was the constantly busy elevator. ONE elevator for housekeeping and guests - so the mornings were particularly trying, as housekeeping staff were trying to get their carts in and out of floors. Not their fault as there was no service elevator for them. I would have given the hotel a higher rating if not for this annoyance - especially when one pays over $200 for a room in peak season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are please you found our pet friendly rooms to be clean and plenty of area outside to walk your dog. We thank you so much for your additional requests on the breakfast bar. We will take these into consideration when we discuss adding items to the breakfast bar. We are very sorry you had to wait on the elevators. We hope if you are ever staying here again you will stay with us again.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having travelled from the UK and in the middle of a long tour of the USA, we were looking forward to our first-ever visit to a Holiday Inn Express, having stayed at another "chain" of hotels up to now. The cost of our room was nearly double what we had been paying elsewhere so it had better be good! Although the lady at the front desk who checked us in was helpful and polite, we did not get a feeling of being over-welcome. No mention was made of coffee facilities available. After checking into our room my husband returned to the lobby to enquire about coffee and the other lady behind the desk was very curt in her response, pointing into a darkened breakfast area. The area was inadequately lit and a member of staff appeared to be eating in there. However my husband managed to get coffee but could not see a trash bin. He returned to the desk to enquire about it - the same lady just took the trash from him with absolutely no comment at all. Suffice to say that front of desk is where first (and last) impressions are made.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I would first like to thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express. We are sorry your stay with us was not overly welcoming and wonderful. We will certainly take the things you mentioned and use them as a learning experience. We hope this doesn’t discourage you from staying with Holiday Inn Express in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we will work on making improvements in the future.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Address: 880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and warmth of Lexington, Virginia at the new Holiday Inn Express Lexington. Conveniently located at the intersection of I-81 and I-64, we're just minutes from all the areas attractions, such as: Washington and Lee University, Virginia Military Institute, the Virginia Horse Center and Natural Bridge. At the Holiday Inn Express Lexington you'll immediately fall in love with the hotel's beautiful decor and be greeted by our courteous staff. Our hotel will surround you with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring 27 HD flat screen televisions, a comfortable large well lit work area with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary high speed Internet access, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room coffee and complimentary continental breakfast. In addition to traditional hotel rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Lexington offers you two room suites with two full-size beds. These suites have a separate sitting area with a second television, 48' pull out sofa bed, table for four or a desk for corporate needs. There is also an over-sized, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lexington Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.