We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Good location good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice property, good location off interstate right outside Lexington, Va.
We arrived late morning before our planned visit to the Natural Bridge Zoo. They were kind enough to get us in a room despite the early hour. We were only there one nite, but perfectly happy with the room and the staff. Free breakfast was nicely replenished and staff friendly. All in all satisfying experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and staying with us. We are glad our customer service and clean rooms were able to win you over. We are thrilled you had a wonderful time and we hope if you are ever back in the area again you will be sure to stop in and stay with us again.
Thank you,
Stacey D.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
59
31
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel was as expected, but the selections at the breakfast bar were a bit better than average, with a very friendly staff. The hotel sees a lot of traffic, but seemed to be adequately maintained. Convenient to W&L and VMI and not far from highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express. We are glad the hotel lived up to expectations and the breakfast bar was better than you thought. We do stay full most of the year but try hard to make every guest feel special and their stay exceptional. We hope if you are back in the area soon you will be sure to stay with us again.
Thank you,
Stacey D.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here for last 3 out of 4 weeks to come support our Rat at VMI. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable; great coffee early in am and plenty of hot cinnamon rolls in quaint horse-themed breakfast dining area. Very convenient to VMI to make all the time restrictions; Walmart right down the road for supplies. Most importantly all the support from Debbie and staff at front desk during this Ratline time; very professional and beyond the call of duty! J Watching out 4 u!
.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you keep coming back week after week and we wish you “Rat” the best of luck at VMI. We are glad you enjoy our rooms and breakfast. We are glad to hear Debbie and the front desk staff is a shining light during this time. We wish you all the best and thank you again for your review.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

For what they charge, I expected do much more. The elevator is tiny and slow. The breakfast is pathetic. The trash cans overflowed in the breakfast room...gross! The whole place needs to be updated. There was an unpleasant odor in the hallway. The room was adequate, except the chairs were a hybrid between a my grandma's furniture and a medieval torture device. If I had paid a third of what I actually paid, I'd come back. But at their prices, no way!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are sorry we missed our mark with your stay. We were one of the last hotels to get branded before IHG rebranded Holiday Inn Express and so our décor is a little dated. Our prices are based on demand in the area. We are sorry your stay wasn’t everything you had in mind. Thank you for your review and we will keep your comments in mind in the future.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have to give kudos to the staff, they were very friendly and helpful - but the hotel itself is EXTREMELY overpriced, and way past the time for a needed update.

The only Holiday Inn Express standards I saw in the rooms were for newer type bedding, a new flat screen tv and a granite bath counter. You can't replace a countertop in a bathroom and leave the grout stained tile and 80's mauve wallpaper and expect someone to think you updated the bathroom!

There still is 20 year old wallpaper in every hallway and guest room, extremely dated furnishings along with carpet that hasn't been changed in years. (I choose to wear my flip flops IN the room!!) Shame on you HIE Lexington.

For the price, this is NOT a do-over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I would first like to start out by saying thank you for recognizing our staff’s customer service. They work very hard to make sure our guests are happy.
I understand your complaints. We were built 8 years ago and were one of the last Holiday Inn Express to go under the old brand standards which means we are getting ready to upgrade to the new brand standards soon. You are correct in saying that everything in the rooms is original to the hotel. We try hard to make sure what we do have is clean and we keep it in good shape by having carpet cleaners in regularly and updating the bedding.
I am very sorry your stay was not satisfactory to what you are use to with Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for your comments we do appreciate them.
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have a student at W & L and have made many trips to Lexington over the past year. We have stayed here twice and both times were very disappointed. This property is rundown, out dated, and last time we stayed the hallway and our bathroom smelled of pet urine. The rooms are dusty, musty, and the beds are HORRIBLE. Worst of all they charge outrageous rates. The HoJo is much nicer for half the price. The plus side, the staff did honor our request and had extra towels waiting in our room and they were friendly at the front desk. The manager, not so friendly when we told him about the problems with our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am sorry you were unhappy with the commendations we provided you. Our property does meet IHG’s requirements. We are sorry about the odor you smelled and that you found the rooms not be up to your standards. Our rates do change if there is a special event in town. We are glad you found our staff to be nice and friendly. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we will be sure to discuss them with our staff.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean, friendly and love the bedding and extra outlets everywhere...along with the desk and lap desk! Breakfast (free) was very fresh with a lot of variety...and staff kept the area extremely tidy. Had no problems with the free Internet like I do with some weak signals at some hotels.

Room Tip: Always ask to stay away from the elevator, ice machine...and no "adjoining" rooms'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Address: 880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lexington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and warmth of Lexington, Virginia at the new Holiday Inn Express Lexington. Conveniently located at the intersection of I-81 and I-64, we're just minutes from all the areas attractions, such as: Washington and Lee University, Virginia Military Institute, the Virginia Horse Center and Natural Bridge. At the Holiday Inn Express Lexington you'll immediately fall in love with the hotel's beautiful decor and be greeted by our courteous staff. Our hotel will surround you with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring 27 HD flat screen televisions, a comfortable large well lit work area with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary high speed Internet access, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room coffee and complimentary continental breakfast. In addition to traditional hotel rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Lexington offers you two room suites with two full-size beds. These suites have a separate sitting area with a second television, 48' pull out sofa bed, table for four or a desk for corporate needs. There is also an over-sized, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lexington Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.