We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lexington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Inman, SC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the local historical sites, including Stonewall Jackson's home, Lee's Chapel and Jackson Cemetery. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes from downtown Lexington. Parking lot was well kept and clean. The lobby and desk help were both welcoming. We stayed in a large suite room with two doubles in one room and in the other section were a kitchen, TV area and pull out sofa. Everything was clean, new looking and no funny smells. The wall mounted hair dryer died while my wife was using it, but once we told the desk they quickly gave us a new hand held dryer as a replacement. The breakfast was included and the staff was friendly. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Lexington, Va.
Comments from our guests are used to better our services and our commitment to guest satisfaction. I apologize for the difficulty you had with the hairdryer. I trust a replacement was brought to you promptly.
Again, thank you and I hope you will return to the Holiday Inn Express if you visit the Lexington area in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
60
38
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

+ Superb location, an Applebee, a subway and a dairy queen are all within walking distance, along with an Amoco gas station with its attached convenience store
+ I had a nice view from my room of sun rays caressing mountain tops and trees
+ Room was exceptionally clean with a nice smell
+ Comfortable bedding
+ Quiet
+ Sumptuous free breakfast

-1 Breakfast could be improved with more healthy stuff, like sugar free oatmeal, fruits etc.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking out to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Arrived on a Thursday afternoon 5pm; waited 20 minutes for employee to check us in. No one at front desk with 3 couples waiting for rooms. AC was very loud machine; hard to sleep, bathroom floor was not clean. For a pretty town like Lexington, Holiday Inn Express disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was my second time at this property. It is typical of the Holiday Inn Express offerings--clean, basic, no-frills accommodations.

I noticed a couple of very small stains (mildew?) on the shower curtain, but otherwise the bathroom was spotless, as was the room in general.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stay here every time I travel through the area. It couldn't be more convenient to the interstates and is near numerous businesses a traveler may need (restaurants, gas stations, pharmacies, etc.). I always request a top floor room with a mountain view. It looks either brand new or newly remodeled. The whole facility is very pretty and extremely well-kept. Rooms have big TVs and very comfortable working areas and lounge chairs. The HVAC worked great. Bath rooms are roomy and spotlessly clean. Yes, it only has one small elevator but it's never been a problem as long as you are a polite person. The free breakfast was excellent. I particularly like the fact that it doesn't have a pool. No noisy, rude, annoying children outside the windows and running up and down the hallways. Nearly countless sites of spectacular natural beauty and adventure as well as historical interest are in the area. Why would anyone sit around a pool? I recommend this hotel highly. Plan to stay awhile and explore one of the most wonderful parts of our country.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Service is excellent. Wi fi is good. The room is very nice, chairs needed replaced or reconstructed. Bed is very nice. Generous towels and very clean rooms. Good breakfast.
Overall good environment, efficient service, fair breakfast, great location. This is a very good value for above average at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

above average. room was clean and relatively recently renovated. bathroom was clean. nice flatscreen TV. fridge in room. bed was good. we were there for only a nite, but i would stay again. breakfast was a little less generous than other places, but acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Address: 880 North Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and warmth of Lexington, Virginia at the new Holiday Inn Express Lexington. Conveniently located at the intersection of I-81 and I-64, we're just minutes from all the areas attractions, such as: Washington and Lee University, Virginia Military Institute, the Virginia Horse Center and Natural Bridge. At the Holiday Inn Express Lexington you'll immediately fall in love with the hotel's beautiful decor and be greeted by our courteous staff. Our hotel will surround you with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring 27 HD flat screen televisions, a comfortable large well lit work area with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary high speed Internet access, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room coffee and complimentary continental breakfast. In addition to traditional hotel rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Lexington offers you two room suites with two full-size beds. These suites have a separate sitting area with a second television, 48' pull out sofa bed, table for four or a desk for corporate needs. There is also an over-sized, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lexington Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.