We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House Mountain Inn
Save
You added House Mountain Inn to your Saves list
455 Lonesome Dove Trail, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
California, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pure Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed a the Mountain House Inn for my friends wedding. There truly was no detail forgotten when decorating or designing the inn; it truly was a wonderful mountain getaway. The staff was over the top amazing. They were exteremly polite and friendly. We enjoyed a Wine & Cheese event, Wedding Rehersal & Dinner, plus the Wedding & Reception. The food at both events was absolutely amazing! Bravo to the House Mountain Inn!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the Inn had the best views of the valley & mountains; however the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a wonderful find and amazing place. The views are stunning if you like the Virginia mountains. The rooms are large with fireplace and hot tub; most importantly they are constructed so that there is no noise at night so sleeping is easy. The owners are gracious and helpful. The food is very, very good and the owner, who is the cook, does a fabulous job in preparation. Assuming that any of the food is prepackaged and then putting that in writing is foolish and irresponsible. If it was prepackaged, then tell me where to find it because it is better than most five star hotels in which I have stayed. If you want a quiet, simple but luxurious place to stay in the mountains of Virginia near a historic town, then this is the place. It is no more expensive that a hotel downtown where there is lots of noise but so much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited House Mountain Inn on a trip of B&Bs in Virginia. This was our splurge as it was very expensive but we decided it sounded so unusual and nice, that it was worth it. We were sorely disappointed. At first glance, the Inn and property are absolutely gorgeous. When we arrived, the owner provided us wine on the house and that was a very nice touch. Here is where things fell short.

We were the only guests for the night in this Inn and opted for the cheapest room (although still $$). We were in the handicap room with no hot tub which I think is one of the few without it. Now, with the rest of the Inn being completely open, what harm would it have been to get an upgrade? It would have been absolutely no cost to the owners. This was our first big disappointment. Just showed us poor customer service.

Next, the 'included' meal. We had dinner on-site as many others here have indicated and we were with one other local couple from Lexington. The owner was also the chef and waiter which got us thinking...how is this food fresh? In fact, we are nearly certain that it was all prepackaged food in the way it tasted and how it was delivered. Considering the cost of this place and the automatic 20% gratuity that was added, it just didn't add up. I don't know if this is always the norm or if it was just a slow night so not worth it to hire staff, but I don't pay hundreds of dollars for a microwave dinner.

Again, the facilities are breathtaking. It's straight out of Montana's Big Sky. But I think management needs to learn a thing or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful night at House Mountain Inn. We were warmly greeted, shown how to use everything in our room, and then invited down to the Pub for free wine and cheese. Met some interesting people and enjoyed the wine and conversations. Diviner was included in our price and it was a 3 course meal. I loved my scallops, and fish. My husband felt his food was over salty. Desserts were simple but ample. Breakfast was delicious, give this venue a shot it won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Get a room with an out door jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had heard several good recommendations for the House Mountain Inn. I can say that I was more than impressed. When we arrived our hostess welcomed us to this beautiful, rustic inn, showed us to our room and pointed out all our amenities. We had wine and cheese in the afternoon followed by a hike up to the lookout tower. The views were wonderful. After our hike, we were served a delicious 3 course dinner. We were so full from dinner that our friendly waitress placed our desserts and coffee on a tray so that we could eat them later. The hot tub was a great way to relax after dinner also. The stars were out and added an extra bonus to an already wonderful night. I have been to several bed and breakfasts and this one ranks as one of my favorites. The hosts were friendly and made you feel so welcome. I hated to leave. I hope to return again, possibly with friends, to share such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the rooms online
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had planned to take my wife to the House Mountain Inn just for dinner to celebrate her birthday. As the evening approached the weather forecast called for ice and snow. To avoid being stuck in snow either coming or going I decided to surprise my wife by reserving a room for the night. Luckily a room was avilable. We arrived in time for the complimentary wine and cheese and got to meet some interesting guests. Our dinner which now was incuded in the price of the room was excellent. The staff was very attentive and pleasant. Our room was very comfortable and cozy with a gas fireplace and a view of the mountains. The view actually reminded us of views that we had enjoyed at Colorado and Utah ski resorts.This is a beautiful mountain location that one can enjoy without flyng half way across the country. By the way the snow and ice came and my car couldn't climb the mountain to reach the inn but we called and it sent a truck to pick us up at the entrance to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Inn is located on a private mountain and the views from the rooms as well as dining room are exquisite. Staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. A lovely breakfast was included with the room rate as was a cheese and wine hour every afternoon. We added dinner both evenings, which consisted of a three course meal. The food is absolutely amazing and very high quality. Our room was very clean, cozy and had a fire place as well as a private hot tub on the balcony. We spent Saturday hiking to the look-out tower that had a picnic table and rocking chairs. It was too cold to stay for long but well worth the hour hike to get there. The Inn way exceeded our expectations for quality, hospitality, comfort and privacy. I cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Several rooms have private hot tubs on the balcony. The Inn's website has pictures of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Mountain Inn

Address: 455 Lonesome Dove Trail, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape and discover a most unusual combination of attentiveness, solitude and satisfaction. Our 9 luxurious but casual guestrooms feature fireplaces, private hot tubs or Jacuzzi tubs, private porch, solid wood furniture, and the best bedding you can ask for. Leave the ordinary behind and immerse yourself in 0ur peaceful surroundings. We will help you enjoy and enrich your getaway by looking after all details. Come see why you will love our welcoming approach with each return visit. Spend the day relaxing or exploring Lexington's most well known mountain. Our 1,000 beautiful acres are just perfect for picnicking, meandering hikes, mountain climbing, wildlife watching, and sightseeing. Be sure to ask us about bringing your horse. End your search for the most unique setting for your next wedding or meeting. You will find we are well-equipped with the latest technology, making your gathering a success. House Mountain Inn has a variety of event facilities for groups from 10 to 150. All of which capture our rustic but elegant theme. We're Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Mountain Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.