We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot not far from downtown Lex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House Mountain Inn
455 Lonesome Dove Trail, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot not far from downtown Lex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful night at House Mountain Inn. We were warmly greeted, shown how to use everything in our room, and then invited down to the Pub for free wine and cheese. Met some interesting people and enjoyed the wine and conversations. Diviner was included in our price and it was a 3 course meal. I loved my scallops, and fish. My husband felt his food was over salty. Desserts were simple but ample. Breakfast was delicious, give this venue a shot it won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Get a room with an out door jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had heard several good recommendations for the House Mountain Inn. I can say that I was more than impressed. When we arrived our hostess welcomed us to this beautiful, rustic inn, showed us to our room and pointed out all our amenities. We had wine and cheese in the afternoon followed by a hike up to the lookout tower. The views were wonderful. After our hike, we were served a delicious 3 course dinner. We were so full from dinner that our friendly waitress placed our desserts and coffee on a tray so that we could eat them later. The hot tub was a great way to relax after dinner also. The stars were out and added an extra bonus to an already wonderful night. I have been to several bed and breakfasts and this one ranks as one of my favorites. The hosts were friendly and made you feel so welcome. I hated to leave. I hope to return again, possibly with friends, to share such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the rooms online
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had planned to take my wife to the House Mountain Inn just for dinner to celebrate her birthday. As the evening approached the weather forecast called for ice and snow. To avoid being stuck in snow either coming or going I decided to surprise my wife by reserving a room for the night. Luckily a room was avilable. We arrived in time for the complimentary wine and cheese and got to meet some interesting guests. Our dinner which now was incuded in the price of the room was excellent. The staff was very attentive and pleasant. Our room was very comfortable and cozy with a gas fireplace and a view of the mountains. The view actually reminded us of views that we had enjoyed at Colorado and Utah ski resorts.This is a beautiful mountain location that one can enjoy without flyng half way across the country. By the way the snow and ice came and my car couldn't climb the mountain to reach the inn but we called and it sent a truck to pick us up at the entrance to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Inn is located on a private mountain and the views from the rooms as well as dining room are exquisite. Staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. A lovely breakfast was included with the room rate as was a cheese and wine hour every afternoon. We added dinner both evenings, which consisted of a three course meal. The food is absolutely amazing and very high quality. Our room was very clean, cozy and had a fire place as well as a private hot tub on the balcony. We spent Saturday hiking to the look-out tower that had a picnic table and rocking chairs. It was too cold to stay for long but well worth the hour hike to get there. The Inn way exceeded our expectations for quality, hospitality, comfort and privacy. I cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Several rooms have private hot tubs on the balcony. The Inn's website has pictures of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

In our search for a B+B in the Virginia mountains and countryside, we had a few special requirements; nature, quiet, hiking trails, fireplace, log cabin style, no fussy Victorian stiff furniture, good healthy food, gracious hospitality and scenic and historic nearby sights. We found all of this, and beyond our expectations, at House Mountain Inn.
Because we went right after the Thanksgiving Holiday, we had the entire lodge to our selves! Tim, one of the owners, was so friendly and accommodating. Our time spent there was so perfect, I wrote a blog review about it and posted many photos! We ( my husband and I ) want to go back again soon, this time with all of our kids. They would love it too! You can see our story at http://growingracelife.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/dont-shoot-i-am-a-hiker/ Don’t Shoot! I am a Hiker

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for a quick getaway for our wedding anniversary. This is a larger than typical B&Bs which we liked because it affords a bit more privacy. There is no shared dining here - every couple sits at their own table. It really is lovely and completely immaculate as other reviewers have noted. We loved having our own hot tub. That is a very rare and wonderful amenity. They offer free wine and cheese in their pub each afternoon. The food is good, not gourmet. I would give five stars if the food had been a bit more tasty. A few more small touches like homemade croutons, fresh baked cookies (instead of oreos), and cheesecake that doesn't come from the store would have made all the difference between four stars and five stars. But the bottom line is that this is a truly special place that I highly recommend. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Here is a tip: If you are planning on using your hot-tub upon arrival, call ahead and tell them wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited the inn because our daughter will be married there next fall. We totally loved it. The rooms are awesome, the decorations unique and carefully chosen and the hot tub was well enjoyed. We took the time to hike the mountain to the observation platform (the last part is quite challenging) and enjoyed delicious food before and after. We had plans to tour the area, but never quite made it to that because we just wanted to stay and enjoy. It was very nice to meet the family inn keepers. When we were there alone, they set up a table for us in the great room by the fireplace. Very nice.

Room Tip: Check out the layout to decide if you want mountain/valley/vista views or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Mountain Inn

Also Known As:
House Mountain Hotel
House Mountain Hotel Lexington
Address: 455 Lonesome Dove Trail, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape and discover a most unusual combination of attentiveness, solitude and satisfaction. Our 9 luxurious but casual guestrooms feature fireplaces, private hot tubs or Jacuzzi tubs, private porch, solid wood furniture, and the best bedding you can ask for. Leave the ordinary behind and immerse yourself in 0ur peaceful surroundings. We will help you enjoy and enrich your getaway by looking after all details. Come see why you will love our welcoming approach with each return visit. Spend the day relaxing or exploring Lexington's most well known mountain. Our 1,000 beautiful acres are just perfect for picnicking, meandering hikes, mountain climbing, wildlife watching, and sightseeing. Be sure to ask us about bringing your horse. End your search for the most unique setting for your next wedding or meeting. You will find we are well-equipped with the latest technology, making your gathering a success. House Mountain Inn has a variety of event facilities for groups from 10 to 150. All of which capture our rustic but elegant theme. We're Open All Year! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added House Mountain Inn to your Saves list