We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
492 Greenhouse Road, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at Frog Hollow. Very well kept and comfortable, we were made to feel at home from the minute we stepped in the door. Beautiful home in a great area. Quiet just minutes from downtown Lexington. Breakfasts were delicious and the hosts couldn't have been better. Would definitely recommend it and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineB55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a great time here. Chose this B&B because it was just outside of Lexington's downtown where it was both extremely easy to drive downtown but also far enough outside of it where it felt like being in the countryside. This allowed extremely convenient access to the various restaurants and shops in Lexington, but also a quiet front porch and gazebo area to relax without people walking by on the street.

The B&B was extremely well-kept and charming. Breakfasts were spectacularly crafted and gourmet. There are even a cats living on the premises that will come out and greet you when you pull up.

The two gentlemen who run Frog Hollow are very welcoming and accommodating with any need you may have, from special dietary needs for breakfast to making dinner reservations for you in town.

Overall Frog Hollow provides a really welcoming and charming environment that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Tolley Suite, which I thought was the best because it is both inside the house (as opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron9879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This absolutely charming bed and breakfast was the perfect place for our quiet weekend getaway from DC. Just three hours from downtown DC, Froghollow provided a tranquil escape from the hectic city life. The grounds are lush and the historic house it picturesque. I thought it was the perfect location in Lexington - very close to downtown, but still in a little world of its own. Our hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and provide thoughtful advice on what to do or where to dine. If the grounds and hosts weren't enough, the breakfasts were superb. I wholeheartedly recommend the Frog Hollow experience to anyone looking for a place to stay in Lexington or a just a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Tolley Suite, which has a sittingroom attache to the masterbed. It's als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a surprise to find this wonderful B&B in Lexington, VA. The hosts have done a very thoughtful and wonderful renovation of a stately old home, with great rooms and common areas. They are very gracious and accommodating, and the breakfasts they serve are pretty incredible. I would absolutely recommend a stay here and am looking forward to returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the suite makes you feel like you are in your own private home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

These guys are absolutely astounding with everything they've put together. Every detail is considered; they're incredibly accommodating to schedules and they're genuinely decent, nice guys. I've stayed here twice now and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else now. Utterly delightful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our 1300 mile journey from NH to TN. The stay at Frog Hollow blew our other experiences out of the water. In retrospect I would have been happy staying here all week and playing in the close by Shenandoah mountains and basking in the warm Virginia sunshine. I fully enjoyed the grounds of the house, they are beautifully landscaped with unique trees, bushes and flowers. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the adirondack chairs next to the magnolia tree. John and David are the kind of people that make this world a good place; warm, friendly, inviting, and really good cooks! We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub looking at the stars, and the attention to detail you just don't see very often. Breakfast was phenomenal and my boyfriend and I left feeling inspired by our conversation with John and David that morning. I really can't say enough about this place and these people, I'm certain you will feel the same!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunshine3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Frog Hollow is the best place to stay in the town of Lexington, VA. My husband and I have visited friends and family in Lexington many times, and from now on we will stay at Frog Hollow. The owners are incredibly friendly and accomodating, very helpful for dinner or shopping recommendations. The room (we stayed in the Tolley Suite) was stunning and full of beautiful antiques and tasteful touches. Coffee, snacks and homemade cookies were provided all weekend, which made coming and going simple and easy.

We stayed for two nights and breakfast on both mornings was amazing. You will not get a better breakfast anywhere in Lexington and breakfast in their lovely dining room was a treat. Their dinner recommendations were spot on and they even helped us obtain reservations. we had as much privacy as we desired and everything at the B&B was well-thought out and tasteful.

The purpose of our visit was a peaceful Valentine's getaway and staying at Frog Hollow B&B made it a wonderful weekend for us. Lexington is a great weekend destination and Frog Hollow is the only place to stay! Thank you John and David!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.0 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 492 Greenhouse Road, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing