We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
492 Greenhouse Road, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Really excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a great time here. Chose this B&B because it was just outside of Lexington's downtown where it was both extremely easy to drive downtown but also far enough outside of it where it felt like being in the countryside. This allowed extremely convenient access to the various restaurants and shops in Lexington, but also a quiet front porch and gazebo area to relax without people walking by on the street.

The B&B was extremely well-kept and charming. Breakfasts were spectacularly crafted and gourmet. There are even a cats living on the premises that will come out and greet you when you pull up.

The two gentlemen who run Frog Hollow are very welcoming and accommodating with any need you may have, from special dietary needs for breakfast to making dinner reservations for you in town.

Overall Frog Hollow provides a really welcoming and charming environment that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Tolley Suite, which I thought was the best because it is both inside the house (as opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
64
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This absolutely charming bed and breakfast was the perfect place for our quiet weekend getaway from DC. Just three hours from downtown DC, Froghollow provided a tranquil escape from the hectic city life. The grounds are lush and the historic house it picturesque. I thought it was the perfect location in Lexington - very close to downtown, but still in a little world of its own. Our hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and provide thoughtful advice on what to do or where to dine. If the grounds and hosts weren't enough, the breakfasts were superb. I wholeheartedly recommend the Frog Hollow experience to anyone looking for a place to stay in Lexington or a just a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Tolley Suite, which has a sittingroom attache to the masterbed. It's als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a surprise to find this wonderful B&B in Lexington, VA. The hosts have done a very thoughtful and wonderful renovation of a stately old home, with great rooms and common areas. They are very gracious and accommodating, and the breakfasts they serve are pretty incredible. I would absolutely recommend a stay here and am looking forward to returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the suite makes you feel like you are in your own private home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

These guys are absolutely astounding with everything they've put together. Every detail is considered; they're incredibly accommodating to schedules and they're genuinely decent, nice guys. I've stayed here twice now and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else now. Utterly delightful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our 1300 mile journey from NH to TN. The stay at Frog Hollow blew our other experiences out of the water. In retrospect I would have been happy staying here all week and playing in the close by Shenandoah mountains and basking in the warm Virginia sunshine. I fully enjoyed the grounds of the house, they are beautifully landscaped with unique trees, bushes and flowers. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the adirondack chairs next to the magnolia tree. John and David are the kind of people that make this world a good place; warm, friendly, inviting, and really good cooks! We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub looking at the stars, and the attention to detail you just don't see very often. Breakfast was phenomenal and my boyfriend and I left feeling inspired by our conversation with John and David that morning. I really can't say enough about this place and these people, I'm certain you will feel the same!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Frog Hollow is the best place to stay in the town of Lexington, VA. My husband and I have visited friends and family in Lexington many times, and from now on we will stay at Frog Hollow. The owners are incredibly friendly and accomodating, very helpful for dinner or shopping recommendations. The room (we stayed in the Tolley Suite) was stunning and full of beautiful antiques and tasteful touches. Coffee, snacks and homemade cookies were provided all weekend, which made coming and going simple and easy.

We stayed for two nights and breakfast on both mornings was amazing. You will not get a better breakfast anywhere in Lexington and breakfast in their lovely dining room was a treat. Their dinner recommendations were spot on and they even helped us obtain reservations. we had as much privacy as we desired and everything at the B&B was well-thought out and tasteful.

The purpose of our visit was a peaceful Valentine's getaway and staying at Frog Hollow B&B made it a wonderful weekend for us. Lexington is a great weekend destination and Frog Hollow is the only place to stay! Thank you John and David!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
677 reviews 677 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

As a former Innkeeper and traveler we have stayed in our fair share of B&Bs and small boutique Inns. Must say my wife and I were so impressed with what John and David have put together here. We were warmly received (despite arriving a couple hours later than our anticipated arrival) and given a tour of the place. We chatted at length about the inn, inn-keeping, history, etc. that evening before dinner and also over breakfast. It was nice to see that both of our innkeepers had enough interest in their guests to sit and have a cup of coffee with us at the table. Even after 10-years they are still enthusiastic and fresh hosts. The inn is very well appointed (given David's background as an interior designer). Comfortable and not chalk-full of chotchkies that is often times commonplace in other historic inns. Big points go to the attention to detail, should you have left any toiletry at home, there was a treasure chest of items to pick from in the bathroom.

Breakfast had to have been one of the best ever served at a bed and breakfast we have stayed over the past 20-years. Nicely done poached pear started off the "meal" and was followed by an omelet with a spicy salsa complete with capers. The sides were shredded potato cake with chive and turkey bacon. Peach preserves by local Mennonite accompanied the toast.

Sharon and I can certainly understand why they have such good repeat business.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. Fridge with complementary water and snacks. Chocolates in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 492 Greenhouse Road, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.