We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No doubt a horse fanatics dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Horse Center

Virginia Horse Center
487 Maury River Road, Lexington, VA
540-464-2950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Activities in Lexington
Type: Equestrian Trails, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Horse Tracks, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Virginia Horse Center is a 600 acre state-of-the-art environment for horse shows and other livestock events. The Virginia Horse Center has twelve show rings, including the 150' x 300' indoor Waldron Arena in the Howard P. Anderson Coliseum. There is a five mile cross country course, and such amenities as a campground, a restaurant and catering service with banquet facilities and a gift shop.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No doubt a horse fanatics dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I came to Natural Bridge, VA for Father's Day this past Sunday 6/16/13. She is an avid rider and has always wanted to see a horse show. The Virginia Arabian Horse club was having numerous competitions while we were in town, so we came on Friday during the afternoon before we headed into downtown Lexington to see some sites.

To say that we had a good time would be an understatement. I had no idea how friendly horse-people were until we arrived here. We bought some used paddock boots for my daughter's growing feet from Carolyne for $5 (thanks for saving us some $$, Carolyne) and told them we were visiting for the first time and she encouraged us to come back and sit with them for a while after touring the facility so they can teach us about the various competitions. Well, there just wasn't enough time as the facility was HUGE!

We met some really cool teens my daughter's age that were encouraging her to show, and some adults that were glad you walked by to talk with them and see their horses. We even had the opportunity to talk with a rider that just finished her hunt jumping and was very courteous.

Anyway, if you're a horse lover and all things horse, you have to stop by when there's a competition. The place was quite empty when we were there, but that allowed us the time to have longer conversations with people, learn more from the groups, and even say hi to the VHC staff member, Marie!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burgess, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horse shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great set up for horse shows and displays. We had a great time watching the horses and competition.Many families watching and having a good time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location for dog shows too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautiful facility. The mezzanine area is nice & wide so you can watch from the top or from stadium seating, whichever you choose. Staff is friendly and helpful & the lunches are yummy... Faves are the tomato bisque, wraps, pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the Rodeo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We only go for the Rodeo but there are lots of actives that go on year round. They have conference centers that over look the riding ring too. A horse lovers must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of the BEST locations to show (and watch). The staff is incredibly friendly and the facilities are in amazing condition. If you are out to do something fun (and free) with the family then take them here to watch the horseshow. If you are competing, I can honestly say that there is no place better to go to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Horse Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Horse Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Horse Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.