We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University
Jefferson St. (Rte. 11), Lexington, VA
540/463-8768
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Lexington
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1749, Washington and Lee University is the ninth-oldest college in the United States.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Amazing grounds on a beautiful day, definitely a great visit! We stopped at the visitor center in town and they recommended we stop here. We are glad they did!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus, questionable recycling practices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Beautiful campus - we were there for reunion and had a great time. I don't think they do recycling very well, though. There were not any options at the reunion meals (all the cans were blue and all were used for garbage) and I didn't really see a lot around the school. They're dropping the ball on that one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem of a university”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Gorgeous, wonderful historical university worth visiting. Great bookstore, beautiful grounds, loved walking the bridge to the football field.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful grounds to walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My dog and I enjoyed a long springtime walk on the campus of this historic school. Stop at the Lee chapel for a better understanding of the school's history

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, serene campus - so friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My son will be attending this school. We absolutely fell in love with the gorgeous campus, the proximity to charming downtown Lexington, the friendliness of the students and the history of the place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington and Lee University also viewed

 

Been to Washington and Lee University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington and Lee University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.