We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“see Lee's tomb, but not until after 1 on Sunday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University
Jefferson St. (Rte. 11), Lexington, VA
540/463-8768
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Lexington
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1749, Washington and Lee University is the ninth-oldest college in the United States.
Pounding Mill, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“see Lee's tomb, but not until after 1 on Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

You've got to walk over and visit the chapel to see Robert E. Lee's tomb. Unfortunately, we were there on a Sunday morning and the chapel is locked until 1 o'clock. I could hear someone inside running a vacuum cleaner..... we were disappointed about that - BUT you can always walk around to Traveller's grave - they've got him buried in the bushes out to the side of the chapel.

W & L has a pretty campus - wide open and quiet - on a Sunday anyway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, USA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This college campus is beautiful and charming . The architecture is very traditional and quaint. It is certainly worth a stop when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best bagels and iced coffee in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everyone that sells bagels say that they have the best...this place has the best and great salads too.
The iced coffee is better than four other places that we have had In town

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The campus is just beautiful. We were very limited on time, so spent most of our time in the Leyburn Library. (amazing resource center...wonderful rare collections of both George Washington and Robert E Lee. Call ahead and they'll help you find what you need.) We wish we could have spent more time at the museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,320 reviews 1,320 reviews
393 attraction reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
559 helpful votes 559 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have seen many campuses and this one ranks among the nicest. We stopped as much to see former University President Robert E. Lee's (and his horse Traveller's) place of interment. However, the campus, when we came across it, was absolutely striking. The sloping hill with the beautiful buildings looking down from the top presents a memorable sight. These older buildings on campus colonnade are typical high brow southern architecture built in the Greek Revival style. They are on the National Historic Register. Some of the other stone buildings in the front including the chapel add to the beauty. In walking through the remainder of campus, there were several interesting features including an impressive-looking gymnasium toward the back. The student union is one of the newer buildings and the interior presents a very comfortable atmosphere. If you are in Lexington, take a few minutes to walk through these serene academic grounds. You will be glad you did.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington and Lee University also viewed

 

Been to Washington and Lee University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington and Lee University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.