We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and well done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George C. Marshall Museum

George C. Marshall Museum
1600 VMI Parade, Lexington, VA 24450
+1 540-463-7103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The independent Marshall Foundation perpetuates Marshall's legacy through scholarship, leadership and statesmanship programs and facilities (including a museum and research library) that offer a wide range of resources and materials for use by the general public, amateur historians, scholars and students of all ages.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Plan to spend 1-2 hours to really immerse yourself in this excellent history lesson. The interactive wall map was really informative. (Climb into the authentic jeep for a photo.) I loved it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great history lesson in just a couple of hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had heard of the "Marshall Plan" before going to the museum, but had no idea what a dedicated public servant George C. Marshall was to our country. The video and displays were very good and I especially loved the huge world map and presentation about World War II. I learned more about that time in history from this museum than in all my history classes put together!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
869 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Marshall and Jackson -- giants at VMI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Peter Falk gave Virginia Military Institute (VMI) in Lexington, Virginia, a big dose of national exposure when his Columbo character solved a crime on the campus many years ago. We always take time to walk the parade ground and visit the museum whenever we are in Lexington. But the biggest attraction of all on the VMI campus is the George C. Marshall Museum and Research Library, which overlooks the parade ground and the cadet barracks. Opened in 1964, the museum follows Marshall's esteemed career from a 1901 graduate of VMI to an inexperienced second lieutenant to five-star general and Chief of Staff in World War II to Secretary of State and development of the Marshall Plan, which more than anything else helped to rebuild Europe after the war. For his efforts, Marshall was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953. It is a marvelous museum with a large bookstore, a video presentation of Marshall's life and an interactive World War II map. The museum is designed to educate the public about the changing role of the United States during the 20th century in military and diplomatic affairs as seen through the life and example of Marshall, whom President Franklin D. Roosevelt said he couldn't sleep at night at the thought of Marshall being out of the country during the war. Marshall's fingerprints are all over WW II and the years beyond the conflict and the museum presents a comprehensive and clear picture of how and why it happened and how Marshall dealt with the issues and helped to solve them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I really enjoyed learning the details of this impressive life. It is very well displayed, and it does take no less than an hour to get through. Very few interactive or media elements; very much set up for mature audiences.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good museum but know your audience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I titled this article b/c I went with kids from 9-15 to this museum. There is a film that you watch first, which I know helped my kids understand it a bit better before they looked around. There is a great interactive map of the wars, but this museum is more suited to older kids. There is a lot of reading and not a great deal of artifacts, but it was what I expected and very informative regarding World war II. It certainly gives a good impression of an American hero. Adults will probably find it more engaging. Since it's not free, just keep that in mind. However, it was cheaper than I thought it would be. Only $5 for adults and 2$ for students of any kind above 12 years old.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George C. Marshall Museum also viewed

 

Been to George C. Marshall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George C. Marshall Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.