We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cyrus McCormick Museum

Cyrus McCormick Museum
State Rte. 606, 5 mi north of Lexington, Lexington, VA
540/377-2255
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 things to do in Lexington
Attraction details
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An interesting spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Cyrus McCormick Museum is located at his birthplace, just off I-81 in Raphine, VA, near Steele's Tavern. The shock is, it's a free attraction. It is small, but features a grist mill, a brook, a duck pond and an oak tree down on the road which may be over 200 years old.
History buffs should not miss this site.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Free and family oriented attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed the ducks at the pond. We toured the still operating mill. There is a nice trail to walk around and picnic tables for a nice picnic if you packed your lunch. Definitely worth a stop off the Interstate 81!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped here en route from Washington to Asheville -- what a pleasant surprise. The grounds are pristine, with a creek, immaculate picnic tables, rest rooms -- and my kids had fun checking out the exhibit. It's FREE, and we were the only people there. Very pleasant way to stretch our legs, have lunch, and learn something.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautiful spot and a very interesting museum. It is compact and easily seen in a short amount of time. The history of the grist mill and Mr McCormick's reaper are explained beautifully with pictures, text, and actual equipment. And the grounds are beautiful, and include a creek, picnic tables, and a pond with geese!! A perfect place for a picnic with young children!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Stopped for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice little historical place not far off the freeway. Park like setting with picnic tables which is perfect for a meal or rest stop. However the smell of cow manure was awful. It was so bad our lunch was close to coming back up, and we had to leave to avoid throwing up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyrus McCormick Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cyrus McCormick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyrus McCormick Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.