We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cyrus McCormick Museum

Cyrus McCormick Museum
State Rte. 606, 5 mi north of Lexington, Lexington, VA
540/377-2255
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 14 attractions in Lexington
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An interesting spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Cyrus McCormick Museum is located at his birthplace, just off I-81 in Raphine, VA, near Steele's Tavern. The shock is, it's a free attraction. It is small, but features a grist mill, a brook, a duck pond and an oak tree down on the road which may be over 200 years old.
History buffs should not miss this site.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Free and family oriented attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed the ducks at the pond. We toured the still operating mill. There is a nice trail to walk around and picnic tables for a nice picnic if you packed your lunch. Definitely worth a stop off the Interstate 81!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped here en route from Washington to Asheville -- what a pleasant surprise. The grounds are pristine, with a creek, immaculate picnic tables, rest rooms -- and my kids had fun checking out the exhibit. It's FREE, and we were the only people there. Very pleasant way to stretch our legs, have lunch, and learn something.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautiful spot and a very interesting museum. It is compact and easily seen in a short amount of time. The history of the grist mill and Mr McCormick's reaper are explained beautifully with pictures, text, and actual equipment. And the grounds are beautiful, and include a creek, picnic tables, and a pond with geese!! A perfect place for a picnic with young children!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Stopped for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice little historical place not far off the freeway. Park like setting with picnic tables which is perfect for a meal or rest stop. However the smell of cow manure was awful. It was so bad our lunch was close to coming back up, and we had to leave to avoid throwing up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyrus McCormick Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cyrus McCormick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyrus McCormick Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.