We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Inn Restaurant

Southern Inn Restaurant
37 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
540-463-3612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southern Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 67 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nelson Street
Description: Located in Historic Lexington, Virginia, Southern Inn Restaurant is a successful mix of casual, but elegant dining. Proprietors George (chef) and Sue Ann Huger offer a contemporary, seasonal menu utilizing local produce, meats and other products, as well as fresh seafood and in-house baked goods.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The atmosphere and food were fantastic! We loved the veal, meatloaf and pecan pie! The servers were very attentive and polite.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    144
    49
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant provided a lovely meal on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was quite busy, but food was well-prepared & the evening was enjoyable. The seafood was innovative & the scallop dish was especially pleasing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant I have been to in Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Over the past decade I have been visiting family in Lexington, VA. The dining choices have always been mediocre at best. That is, until we went to the Southern Inn. Decor is excellent, food was good and the service was on par with with other premium restaurants. Finally a place to go out in Lexington that is not a quick serve restaurant or tired and limping along.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I wondered into Southern Inn on a Monday as it is one of the few Lexiington restaurants open and I was pleasantly surprised. I had carrot soup and a salad...the soup was excellent, as was the salad..but the highlight was the homemade ice cream! I shall definitely come back. The service was very good and the staff pitched in to help each other if one got too busy. All were friendly and professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

They have very good food choices. A little on the pricey side but delicious. You wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lexington, VA
 

Been to Southern Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.