We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was Great--Worst coffee I have ever tasted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Maury River Road, Rte 39, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel was Great--Worst coffee I have ever tasted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Typically, Choice Hotels have fresh brewed coffee and it ranges from drinkable to pretty good. The coffee at this hotel was real bad. When I questioned it I was told that it was basically instant from a machine and people had complained about it for awhile. Otherwise breakfast was OK. Otherwise, hotel was clean bright cheery. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Punch line is I should not have needed to drive to the 7-11 to get a "decent" cup of coffee.

Lastly, we went to leave room for the day abound 10:30AM. I was told by housekeeping staff that they could not freshen up our room because it was too late. Not a big deal, but huh???????

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely apologize that you were not happy with the quality of coffee provided at breakfast. However, we are so pleased to inform you that we are in the process of switching from instant coffee to freshly brewed. We have already started a trial for the same and have been getting a lot of compliments about the fresh brewed coffee. We greatly appreciate your valuable comments since these help us improve on the service we provide to our guests. We sincerely hope next time you are in town and decide to stay with us, we can serve you the fresh brewed coffee and get your opinion on it. Thank you so much for choosing us for your previous stay. We really hope you will provide us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
53
25
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently rode the Blueridge Parkway with a group of other Lady motorcyclists. This hotel was a great overnight stop. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. The pool and hottub were great after a long days riding. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for your valuable comments. We definitely hope to serve you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have a 2 1/2 year old Sheltie and needed a pet friendly hotel. I had stayed two nights prior at the Wingate in Lexington because I had a meeting there in town and so I put my sheltie at a boarding place. I did not want to drive through the mountains at nighttime so I decided to get a room at the Sleep Inn.
When I first went into the room it had a very musty smell but I thought once I get the air going in the room it would go away. I was getting settled into the room when I begin to notice several things. What REALLY got me was when I went into the bathroom the toilet looked like it had not been clean in a long time. There was stains in the bowl where someone had went to the bathroom and it had not been scrubbed. That grossed me out! Then I noticed that the tile looked nasty next to the tub. When I turned on the lights in the bathroom there was one bulb out and it was kind of dark.
Then when I turned on the lights in the room itself there was several bulbs out. These bulbs were not the regular light bulb but had a bulb that was in a circle. The shades were dirty, stained and one was ripped.
Finally when I looked around at the carpet it was like it had not been vacumned in a long time.
I was soooo tired and decided to try and make it through the night but I did write all the things down and spoke to the manager the next morning.
I told her that the room overall looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. She mentioned that it could have been because it was the "off season!"
I would recommend to anyone having a pet to check the other local hotels around there.
Personally I would not go back to this hotel.
I started to turn on the lights and

Room Tip: Go to one of the other local hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay at our hotel and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. We wish you could have informed us during your stay so we could have taken measures to move you to a different room or address the issues immediately. However, once you reported the problems at checkout, management immediately took action with the help of housekeeping & maintenance staff to fix the problems. We once again apologize for the inconvenience and sincerely hope you will provide us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendecourt-les-Cagnicourt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the staff courteous and friendly. It was an easy drive from the Virginia Military Institute, which was our purpose for being there, and from a number of good restaurants. Although right off the interstate, there was absolutely no highway noise.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you Miss Kaye J for choosing our hotel for your previous stay. We really appreciate your positive comments and are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to serve you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the facility to check it out for a potential wedding block. We were very happy with the facility itself. Everything was clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were nice and warm/hot. We had requested adjoining rooms online and were very happy to have them assigned when we checked in. It was close to a number of restaurants, gas stations and Wal-Mart/shopping. You can walk to a Waffle House if you want! The complimentary breakfast was pretty standard, but very well presented and the area was nicely set up and clean. I would say you can't go wrong with staying here. Clean, quite, and a very good value. We didn't end up picking this for the wedding block, but it was a close second. We had a very good experience with the staff, they were very nice and let us tour additional rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely & positive comments about our hotel. We feel pride when guests appreciate our efforts. Although we surely would have loved to serve your wedding block, we still are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay. We really hope we get to serve you as our guests again. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was traveling through and was pleasantly surprised to find the place. Restaurants close by and warm breakfast they provided was excellent. The room was comfortable, and clean. The only negative was the sound of the elevator every time it reached the floor I was on. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank You Gail H for your valuable positive comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due to the elevator noise. However, we are so pleased to know that you would surely like to come back. We truly look forward to having you as our guest again. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Check in was terrible. Very rude desk person. Also, she seemd to have changed our rate to a higher one but that was taken care of at checkout when I showed the check out person my paperwork that showed the rates. Unpleasant start to stay that was good other than that. One bedroom suite was quite roomy. Breakfast was good -- just wished Sleep Inns had more choices for cold cereal than just raisin bran or fruit loops neither of which my wife can eat. Everyone but check-in woman was very pleasant and helpful. I only rated service so bad because of check in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEETAL G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention. In this regards, I have explained the front desk person who assisted you at checkin to ensure that such rude behavior is not repeated again. Each guest is equally valuable to us and we agree that negligent behavior is not acceptable. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you encountered. However, we are pleased to know that other than that, you enjoyed your stay and the front desk agent at checkout offered you proper assistance and discount at checkout. We hope you will provide us another opportunity to have you as our guest again. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 95 Maury River Road, Rte 39, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Lexington
Sleep Inn Lexington
Lexington Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.