We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Carriage Company

Lexington Carriage Company
Corner of Varner Ln & Washington St., Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-5647
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Vineland, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time. I grew up in Lexington but had been away for years. Brought wife and family to visit. We all loved the carriage tour of the city. Would recomend it for anyone who has never taken it whether you are a 1st time visitor or have been in the area all your life

Visited October 2012
Thank hokies13vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Informative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited Lexington in July. We decided to take the carriage tour for an overview of the historic sites. Our driver/tour guide was Peter who is a serious history buff. He knows the city, historic background and takes the time to answer questions and even recommend sites to visit. We also would recommend this tour. The visitor center is right across the street with plenty of parking and the cost is reasonable.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank Enjoyinglife63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Historical Overview of Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We took the Carriage tour of Lexington, and it was a wonderful trip around town, seeing many of the historic spots. Our driver/tour guide was an expert in Civil War history (he was a consultant and an extra in the movie "Gods and Generals") and he really brought history to life.

An excellent tour, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK experience, but I would not do it again. Just not enough interestin information during the ride.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

part of the ride was a stop to water the horses and dump their diapers. It has to be done but why part of the ride?

Visited August 2013
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good starting point for viewing Lexington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Before taking off on foot to view historic Lexington, we decided to see it by carriage to get a feel for the city and what we might like to see. Our guide was dressed in period costume, and was well versed in the history of the city, and the people who made it famous. The tour was about an hour in length. You can park for free across the street at the Lexington Visitor Center(106 E. Washington st.) where restrooms are available before boarding the carriage. The tour covered all of the historic landmarks, and was rich in history. The tour gave us the chance to get an idea of what we wanted to go back and explore in depth. The carriage held 6 people plus the driver, so come early to get the seat you want. We were the last couple to arrive, so we had to sit up front with the driver, great view, but crowded. When your ride is over, you can go back to the visitor center, and pick up their walking tour brochure and the helpful staff will give you great advice and directions. The carriage tour was well worth the $16.00 per person.

Visited June 2013
Thank angolalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexington Carriage Company also viewed


Been to Lexington Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing