We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best chocolate I've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoa Mill Chocolate Company

Cocoa Mill Chocolate Company
123 West Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
800-421-6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Shopping in Lexington
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located in beautiful downtown Lexington, VA. Our exact Location is next to Blue Sky Bakery and across the street from the Post Office. Come in and see us.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Some of the best chocolate I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My mother and I were delighted to find this little shop on a recent visit to downtown historic Lexington. I've had chocolate from all over the country, and this is one of my favorites. Sadly, they were out of milk chocolate peanut butter cups that day, but the s'mores bark, peanut clusters, and sea salt caramels were excellent. The store itself was lovely, and the lady who helped us could not have been more pleasant. Some people have remarked that the chocolate is expensive, but it is less expensive than Godiva, and far superior. Definitely worth the price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Holy moly, if you are in town and do not stop here, then you do not LOVE good chocolate! I am a local and I have to keep myself far away from here or I will be as big as a house!!! I drool when I simply see the truffles!!! MMMMMM!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“great homemade chocolates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Yum ! Bought some to take home- really GOOD chocolate!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

All chocolates were offered along with a white. I found some of the bittersweet to be a little grainy....but good.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Chocolate for the average Joe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I personally think they are missing the mark - Wall Street review or not.
The candy is tasty but could use more flavor complexity and less sugar.
It would be nice if the contents labeling included grams of sugar per ounce.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoa Mill Chocolate Company also viewed

 

Been to Cocoa Mill Chocolate Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoa Mill Chocolate Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.