We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with dog or without” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 N Lee Hwy, 11N at I-64, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Islip, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with dog or without”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean and comfortable at an excellent price. We were traveling with our dog and stopped for one night. We walked across the parking lot to Applebee's and brought dinner back to the room and had plenty if room at the table to enjoy our meal while watching the large tv. Bed and pillows were comfortable and the shower was hot with good pressure. Walking the dog before bed we were happy to find a Dairy Queen for a snack. They also serve burgers for another dining option on a future stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank your for staying with us and for sharing your comments for others to read.
I am pleased you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the location was suitable with several restaurants nearby. We also have plenty of outdoor space for a stroll with your pet.
We hope you will stay with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
57
53
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights while on a business trip.
The staff was so accommodating...
The rooms were always clean
and the continental breakfast a great way to start the day.

I am headed back to Lexington this week and I will be staying
at The Best Western Lexington Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and for letting us know your appreciation for the service we offered. We treat each guests as if they were a guest in our own homes and we strive to offer clean and comfortable guest rooms.
We look forward to having you return to our hotel on your next visit to Lexington.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was an unexpected stop due to inclement weather. We were able to check in earlier than the advertised check in time and the woman at the front desk was very courteous and understanding. The room was clean and warm (it was only 29 degrees outside and storming), and right next door is an Applebee's restaurant. A $5.00 off on a $25.000 order coupon for dinner was available for the restaurant. A continental breakfast is available from 6 a.m. and has a nice selection of breakfast choices. The internet was high speed and I logged right on with my laptop. The motel is a short drive off I-81 and well worth the stop. The motel is close to VMI we noticed.

Room Tip: We like a ground floor with the outside entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Patricia,
Thanks for sharing your comments of your visit to the Best Western Lexington Inn.
I am sorry your visit was due to poor weather conditions as the Lexington area has lots of history to offer for our visitors.
I am pleased all aspects of your stay were enjoyable including your clean and warm room, location of hotel and Applebee's restaurant and your breakfast the next morning.
I hope you will return to the Lexington area in the future and take in the many historical stops of the downtown area.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I found the hotel perfect for what we wanted. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed excellent and the water in the shower hot. The continental breakfast was good along with a good food selection. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Applebee restaurant is right next door along with shopping establishments. Other hotels are in the immediate area, but I have no reason to recommend them. I'd recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two adults and one large Golden Retriever recently spent the night here. From the registration with Kara to the checkout with Tasha, we spent the best night in a hotel we have had in a long time. The dsk personnel were courteous and efficient as well as friendly. The room was exceptionaly clean and all appliances worked well. Hot breakfast was hot and delicious.. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Margaret
Thanks for sharing your comments of your recent visit to the Comfort Inn.
I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. Thanks in advance for recommending our hotel. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was clean but the front desk personnel were on the rude side, they have a hidden safe charge per day you need to request to have removed, and the Wifi signal strength was poor quality. Breakfast was typical continental style although no Belgium waffles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomSales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are very sorry our front desk staff did not treat you with the kindest respect. We will certainly look in to doing more training with them on staff service. We do offer safes in the room and there is an additional charge for it. The reason it is automatically added on is because we cannot asked at check in if you would like this fee or not because if you do have something valuable you are traveling with and are using our safes you probably don’t want to tell anyone. We are more than happy to take this charge off at check-out. We are looking into our Wi-Fi services to be able to offer a better service to our guests. Thank you for your review and we will be working on those areas to get them up to par.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's been a while since I experienced this level of "sub-prime" organization in a motel with excellent location. Near the historic district and the VMI campus this hotel must be the last to fill for special events weekends. While check-in and check-out went very smoothly, the rooms are "minimally adequate." While clean, there could be some extra attention to detail.

The biggest disappointment was the "complimentary breakfast." Let's start with only one microwave and one toaster, cloistered in a corner cubbyhole, therefore access is limited. Food items are not prepped in advance. The motel fails to provide the server a prep area with independent heating facility/equipment. The sever must share the microwave to heat and serve supplemental menu items as they are consumed.

The "biscuits" were frozen. The sausage patties are in a mini-refrigerator and biscuits and sausage must be heated by each patron while competing with the server. Condiment selection is broad - thanks. The serving area is neat but too closely located with the service line. Coffee, located apart from the service line, is excellent, full bodied - thanks. Fruit selection limited to apples only. Doughnut selection varied and fresh; but may have been frozen.

After fighting for cooking time, elbowing my way near the cubby-hole and heating my biscuit, the gravy with meat was delicious. Milk and yogurt containers are half-pint servings to match the mini-refrigerator compartment space available.

Highly suggest management look to realign the area. This breakfast nook area is compressed because it is collocated with the Front Desk and small sitting area. Suggest that the the computer and printer be moved to the second floor landing (wasted space), that would allow for additional space to expand the service line. Perhaps for separate fruit and sweets/doughnut, and bagel area. Bagel selection/choices adequate but fighting for cook time and access to the heat elements made the event a challenge.

Thankfully we were not rushed and could enjoy the "running of the bulls breakfast preparation" ritual performed by the other patrons. Great entertainment and I could not count the number of "excuse me" and "I'm sorry" comments these patient diners demonstrated.

Bottom line: my dear, patient, and never critical wife refuses to return to this Best Western until the service opportunities improve. It only takes a little time, thought, and minimum dollar expenditure to turn this "disaster area" into an acceptable breakfast area focused on the needs of the customer. I hope management will give the server a chance to excel. She has the personality just not the space and equipment.

Room Tip: Suggest an upstairs room, outside entrance in the low 200's puts you near the front of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomSales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I really would like to thank you for this review. You went above and beyond explaining your stay and also gave suggestions that we are taking very seriously. I am disappointed that you felt our hotel was sub-prime. We have taken your suggestions to management and are looking for ways to rework the breakfast and computer area. I am very sorry that your wife was so upset and we hope to rework the breakfast area and the next time you return that it be something that is a little easier to use.
Thank you again for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn

Address: 850 N Lee Hwy, 11N at I-64, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lexington
#4 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go back in time to the civil war era while staying at this new and unique Virginia hotel! The Best Western Lexington Inn is a great setting for vacationers and those traveling on business. Full-service accommodations are provided at a great value. All guest rooms are clean, spacious, up-to-date and equipped with free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities include an on-site exercise center, continental breakfast and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.