We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location or downtown Lexington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lexington to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 North Lee Hwy, I-81 and I-64, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
BALTIMORE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location or downtown Lexington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was a great location for downtown Lexington and other activities. Great value. Actually a relly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    196
    96
    34
    21
See reviews for
293
111
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEWTOWN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the fact that they had TWO QUEEN beds. We were a family of 3 visiting nearby colleges......after a LONG day traveling by car, I NEEDED a good nites sleep and we are accustomed to sleeping in a king bed, BUT we needed a second bed for our son.

Queen Beds, location and Price; TRI FECTA!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed here for a long weekend, the weekend after labor day 2012. We arrived before check in time and they let us check in early. Few minor drawbacks of being able to hear people in adjoining rooms who didn't know that 11:00 pm most people were trying to sleep. Didn't complain to the desk, as what could they really do to make them quiet down. Breakfast, although it was free, was the same thing every day, variety would be nice. Have stayed in other Wingate's for more than one or two nights, who had different things each day on a rotating basis. The rooms were very large and relativley clean, few cobwebs in the corners by the ceiling, but nothing bad enough to really complain about. The location is right off 64 before it joins 81. Close to VMI, Washington and Lee and other vacation destinations. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Located right off the interstate with easy access to Lexington as well as to the Young Life camp nearby in Rockbridge. We were in the area to visit grandchildren attending the camp so I had chosen for proximity to the George Washington Forest but it is also a convenient spot for visiting Lexington and Washington & Lee University. The horse center is nearby as well (we passed on our way to the camp). After our visit to the camp, we spent a very relaxing evening walking about the town and touring the college campus.

Excellent staff that made my elderly parents feel very at ease in an unfamiliar environment.
The hotel sits at the intersection of the major roadways and the corner location means that there are beautiful clear vistas of the mountains in multiple directions. Given my parents ages, we were on the first floor but even those rooms had beautiful views.

The hotel only offers the standard continental style breakfast (no onsite restaurant). However,
the Windgate is immediately adjacent to a Ruby Tuesday (easy walking distance) so getting dinner was a breeze. Their are also several other eateries in the area.

Our room was large and and clean and outfitted with microwave and small fridge (standard). The pool was nearby on the other side of the hotel but I noticed no strong chemical odors, as is so often the case with indoor pools, when getting ice nearby.

Room Tip: The best views are for the rooms toward the back and toward the side facing just the interstate).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST LONG BRANCH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overall, an outstanding hotel. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Very convenient to VMI and W and L. The breakfast was so-so--not a lot of variety and was unremarkable. The waffle house acros the street is a good option. The free internet access is good--seemed a little slow at times, but was always available. I definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwingatelex, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lexington, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate it. We are working on better options for our breakfast bar so that each guest has plenty to choose from. We do hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Lexington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POWHATAN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very nice hotel, great breakfast. Only draw back was noisy guests from VMI during the night, otherwise a great hotel. The lobby is large and spacious and the rooms are a nice size and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARNER
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the check-in at the front desk, to the free breakfast and free Wi-Fi, the Wingate in Lexington, VA, is a very good hotel. The staff was friendly and the facilities were clean.

Only three things about the rooms I would recommend be improved: our room smelled like cigarette smoke when we first got there, although it was a non-smoking room; the HVAC was located on the opposite side from the bathroom, under the window, and blew the curtains up into the room, blocking some of the airflow from making it across to the steamy bathroom; and the water pressure in the shower was only slightly more than a slow drizzle.

Otherwise, breakfast was hearty, the beds were comfortable, and the sheets and towels were very clean. Overall, a very good hotel that made a decent rest-stop during our weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lexington

Address: 1100 North Lee Hwy, I-81 and I-64, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lexington
#5 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lexington Hotel Lexington
Wingate Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.