We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Experience Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Don't stay here! They cancelled our jacuzzi suite room on our wedding night b/c we were not there by check in time. When we arrived they were incredibly rude and unapologetic (even with a crying bride!) we ended up having to find a different hotel in the middle of the night. I could go on and on, but bottom line -- please don't support this hotel -- it was the worst customer service I have ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
52
26
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Airy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

We arrived at Country Inn & Suites on 12/29/06 for a two night weekend, taking advantage of the superdeal rate on their website of $64.00 per night. Very friendly housekeeping staff. We had little contact with the front desk other than check in and that experience was fine. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness, spaciousness, and comfort for the price that we paid. Our room was non-smoking with two queen beds and had a refridgerator. This hotel seemed to be the closest one of the reasonably priced hotels to VMI and Washington & Lee. The continental breakfast was what you would expect with the addition of biscuits and sausage which were quite tasty. The fitness room had a treadmill and one other piece of equipment and the business center had one computer. For the price, a good place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on 2/16/06 heading south on I-81 and on 3/10/06 heading north. With a coupon from Virginia/West Virginia Travel Coupons, the room cost $49.99 each time. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, large and well-lit. Too often rooms are poorly lit at bedside for comfortable reading, but not here. The mattress was firm and very comfortable and the heating/ventilation was effective and quiet. The staff were courteous, efficient and helpful. Access to the internet was free from inside the room and was wireless. Breakfast was the typical free continental breakfast, but they didn't run out of anything, the coffee was better than average and the breakfast room was clean and well-organized. We stayed here on our return trip too so you know we were very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

This hotel has really gone down hill since my stay during the summer. The staff seemed hostile and unhelpful. Hotel was nto clean and the "new" manager was unavailable at the time. Room was filthy. Hairs in bathtub, carpet needed vacuumed. I would definitely not stay here again. Perhaps they need an available NEW manager.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2005

This was a really great choice for a stopover in Lexington. Surrounded by places to grab a bite to eat, the rooms are spacious and clean, the amenities are nice, the breakfast is good.

Perfectly located, right at the intersection of 64 and 81.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

We stayed here this past weekend during a mini-vacation. I booked this room because of the price, since I was unfamiliar with the chain. I'm happy to say I wasn't disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff on check-in was thoroughly professional. Enjoyed the breakfast that was provided. All in all, a great stay and I'll definitely book with this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2003

We stayed here in Aug. Room was clean & nice but the pool was a bit on the cool side. Have stayed at a nicer hotel in this chain in IL that was a bit better kept than this one though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.