We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room was a tropical rainforest: hot and buggy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“My room was a tropical rainforest: hot and buggy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on the last night of a week-long road trip with friends. We choose it because the reviews were good and we wanted to guarantee a comfortable place to stay for just the night. We paid $100 for a night (other hotels we stayed at on this trip ranged from $59 to $250 and were all far superior to this place). On the plus side, the free breakfast was good (waffles, apples/bananas, wheat and white toast etc) and the room and common areas were pleasantly decorated and didn't appear worn. The room was clean and large. However, when we walked in the room was staggeringly hot. It was like a sauna. Really, an actual sauna. We checked in at 9pm and it was in the upper 80s outside. It was over 100 in that room. We were also greeted by a cockroach on the curtain. We killed the roach and turned on the A/C. We then spent the next 2 hours laying on the bed listlessly, waiting for the room to cool down and killing crawling insects of a variety of kinds. They were everywhere: walls, floor, ceiling. Roaches, centipedes, something with pinchers...

Our theory was that the hotel didn't turn on on air to save money, which then created a bug-friendly jungle atmosphere all the bugs in the area flocked to. We were on the 4th floor, there was just no reason for that kind of bug infestation in a well managed hotel. The A/C was also not powerful enough to cool the room quickly or maintain a temperate atmosphere. At midnight, we were still sweating and we're from swampy DC. We had been surprised to find the A/C on high in other hotels in the region, but perhaps there's a good reason for that. If this hotel is not going to use the A/C when guests aren't in the room, than they need to upgrade their system. Or, they could just turn on the A/C and hire an exterminator. Either way, I will never stay here again. When we checked out, the front desk clerk didn't ask us if we enjoyed our stay...that was probably a good decision for her.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
On lower occupancy days, except for the suites which have central air/heat plants where the temperature is constant, we cannot turn on all of the individual room air handlers because we do not know which floor or which room the guest will prefer. In reference to the bugs, being next to the woods, the beetle family find there way into the hotel. There are NO roaches. We are protected by Terminix with prescheduled services to prevent an infestation. Copies of service tickets available to be faxed to anyone concerned. The hotel is open to inspection at any given time by anyone that desires to do so. We stand on our reputation.
Tom West-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
18
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We have stayed here about once every year for the last eight years. At first it was with kids for their state horse competition, now it is just when we are traveling through.

On our most recent Saturday night stay, we were not disappointed. Our 4th floor room was clean, large, well-appointed (good reading light, consistent wi-fi, comfy king-sized bed with nice linens and pillows, upholstered chair with ottoman, good desk chair, 'fridge and microwave). Our door was difficult to close from the outside, and we had to slam it.

There is a pay washer and dryer available. We have always found the staff to be pleasant and accomodating, even opening up the breakfast area early for our horse-tending kids.

We did not use the pool, but have noted it is in a small interior area. More utilitarian than for relaxing beside it.

The more-than-continental breakfast has a lot of variety, including self-serve waffle irons (didn't care for the sweet flavor of the waffle batter myself, however). They had three kinds of syrup (just don't be looking for the real Maple kind, darn it), and even several flavorings to add to milk. Sausage gravy and biscuits for those who partake. Most of the usual offerings, also. I do wish more fruit than Delicious apples and bananas would be available, though.

Located on Lee Highway beside I-64 about a mile from the intersection with I-81, it is convenient to anything around Lexington.

On our most recent visit we used one of those hotel coupon tabloids and saved a significant amount on the room. During big college and Horse Center weekends, I am sure such a rate would not be available. The AAA rate quoted to us was quite high, I thought.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stopped overnight in the middle of a long drive, and traffic was crawling due to a major snowstorm. We felt lucky to get a room. Overall, we were pleased we had a decent place to stay, but the room was really just satisfactory - a little worn, shabby. Also not the cleanest place. Breakfast was all right, but nothing special, and not as good as we've seen in other places. When will these roadside hotels stop using so much styrofoam and plastic?!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
During this snowstorm that stalled travel, our employees could not get in either. With just the few that had stayed here because of no travel, we tried our best to priortize the needs of our guests and accomodate. Unlike some of the competition, WE did NOT raise the rates due to high occupancy like some others. Those stranded had enough problems. In reference to shabby, all of the rooms had underwent complete renovation with exception of new microwave, refrigerator, and flat screen tv. Breakfast served at that time was above corporate requirements. Due to lweather related lack of deliveries, all products not available and we utilized what was available.
Tom West-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The location of this hotel makes it easy to get to the Virginia Horse Center, Natural Bridge and downtown Lexington.
Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was very good. We had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot but you could get coffee, tea, or hot chocolate any time by going to the breakfast area.
We have stayed at Country Inn & Suites many times and I have always found the accommodations to be excellent.
My only objection to the hotel was the price. This was Washington & Lee College parents weekend, a football game at VMI, and a competition at the Virginia Horse Center so the price of the room was triple the cost of the normal rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Efficient, clean hotel close to downtown. Across the street from Dairy Queen-a plus for the kids. Indoor pool was small and sufficient, breakfest was more than enough for anyone. Service was excellent. Best Beds of our trip! Worth it to visit the Safari Animal Park down the road-be prepared to laugh-a lot (the pee in your pants type laughing-i mean)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spammmenot
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed on the 2nd floor. The door to the room had to be pushed really hard for the latch to grab. Apparently many doors are this way on the 2nd floor as most people are slamming the doors to get them to close. So, be ready to be an early riser.

The advertisements say this place was recently renovated... I've not seen where on the 1st and 2nd floors as the place shows some age.

I expected a little more for the accommodations given this is a CIS.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
When problems with locks occur, once reported to maintenance, the door jamb is usually in need of adjustment. Slamming of the doors causes mechanism to fall out of alignment. Also low battery power will cause malfunction and when reported, batteries replaced cures problem, but we need to be notified when there is a problem. Most slamming of doors is usually inconsideration of others, especially kids not monitored by parents.
Tom West-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in a king suite for three nights. The hotel appearance was very clean. Our room was spacious. The suite had a seperate bedroom with a tv, a sitting area with a couch desk and chair and a tv, there was also a frig and microwave. The internet connection was fast which my husband apreciated as well as the extra outlets on the desk. The bed was comfy and the sheets were soft and extra pillows and a blanket were in the room. The airconditioning did a good job of keeping the room cool when 95 degrees outside. I filled out an e-mail survey sent to me by the Country In and Suites chain after my stay. I had a few coments about my stay. The next day I received a personal e-amail response by the General Manger. It was nice to see that they look at the reveiws and were concerned with what we thought about our stay. This was way beyond anything that I have ever received from a hotel before. I will stay again!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.