We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
1 review
“Friendly service but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. It was over priced but I enjoyed my stay as the staff was extremely friendly and room was fresh and clean. King size bed was decently comfortable but not worth the money. 32" flat screen was a nice touch

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
46
26
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had one night while in Lexington. The room we stayed in had all the right amenities and was clean and up to date. However, the lobby looks worst for wear. Breakfast was typical of most hotel chains. There is also a gym and pool on the premises. The staff was very attentive. The hotel is outside of downtown Lexington but is only a short drive away. Interstates I64 and I81 are nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fairly typical roadside accommodation. Amenities are nice enough, fridge in every room, well-stocked breakfast, flat screen TV, coffee 24x7 pool, etc... No problem with staff. However, stained carpets, musty odor and peeling wallpaper, bring this place down. It looks new from the outside but it's clearly been through a lot of abuse. All of this would be fine in a budget hotel, but this cost 2x as much as the type I typically stay at. And I had heard such good things about this chain too.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room and you can use the open central staircase that goes directly to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used for improvements as soon as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I (wife, 3yr old, and 8 mo old) recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites while visiting the Lexington area over the 4th of July weekend.
We chose the hotel based on the proximity to downtown Lexington, restaurants, and other site-seeing things. Also, free breakfast and pool.

The room was clean. Bathroom was clean. Room was worn, as one would expect a hotel room to be. But a little over priced for what it was. After taxes, we paid close to $200 a night.
It checked the box as far as a hotel room was concerned, but just didnt make the mark for $200 a night in my book.

Negatives regarding the hotel.
We left 9am to go out for the morning. I asked the 1st desk to make our room a priority for cleaning, as we would be returning around 2pm for nap time for my kids. When we returned, only the used towels had been removed, nothing else had been done, no new towels had been placed in the room. No cleaning folks in site. When we departed our room, cleaning folks were on our floor, and I asked them to clean our room. When wee returned, room was cleaned with no issues.

Additional negative; hotel rooms are loud. Walls are thin.You can hear people talking in the hallways, doors opening and closing.

And finally; fire alarm went off at 6am on Sunday morning for no apparent reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed here for a night and I was leary heading into the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. On top of having some upgraded bathrooms, the hotel was clean, and the staff exceptionally friendly. Additionally, the hotel was accessible to 64, 81, and a ton of attractions like the VA Safari Park). The price is decent (relative to the area), so I can't complain!

I asked for a room with a view and was so happy to be able to enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery from our room. :)

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your mountain views and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family and I were passing through town and needed to stop late at night. I have a family with 3 small children and a infant. We stopped around midnight, and the front desk clerk helped us pick a room close to the entrance so we could get our sleeping kids in quickly. They provided us a crib with sheets as well.

The room had 2 queen beds as well as a pull out couch, and everything inside was clean and orderly. It was very reasonably priced compared to the hotels surrounding it.

The Furniture, towels, and sheets were all clean and there were spare blankets and towels. The room was nothing fancy, but it was great for the one night stay we needed.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a clean, helpful place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Of the many Country Inn & Suites we have visited this was the only one at which we felt we were being gouged. Our room #202 was no different than any other we have had at this chain but the price was way out of line. The staff were friendly and efficient and our "running on" toilet was repaired quickly. The breakfast was very disappointing in both variety and quantity. The room was very quiet and the bed and pillows were up to standard as was the free WiFi. We will not be returning as there are many other name brand hotels nearby.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.