We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Lexington
1 review
“Quick Overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family and I were passing through town and needed to stop late at night. I have a family with 3 small children and a infant. We stopped around midnight, and the front desk clerk helped us pick a room close to the entrance so we could get our sleeping kids in quickly. They provided us a crib with sheets as well.

The room had 2 queen beds as well as a pull out couch, and everything inside was clean and orderly. It was very reasonably priced compared to the hotels surrounding it.

The Furniture, towels, and sheets were all clean and there were spare blankets and towels. The room was nothing fancy, but it was great for the one night stay we needed.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a clean, helpful place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
20
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Of the many Country Inn & Suites we have visited this was the only one at which we felt we were being gouged. Our room #202 was no different than any other we have had at this chain but the price was way out of line. The staff were friendly and efficient and our "running on" toilet was repaired quickly. The breakfast was very disappointing in both variety and quantity. The room was very quiet and the bed and pillows were up to standard as was the free WiFi. We will not be returning as there are many other name brand hotels nearby.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Sadly, a bit threadbare and very plain four walls and a bathroom. We just stopped for the night while driving on I-64 and thought that Country Inn and Suites would be OK. YUCK. Carpet needs cleaning, a/c is chugging along and making a lot of noise, and damp cold air is coming out. Not pleasant. Bathroom is similarly bare necessities. Receptionist was pleasant, but doesn't make up for such an unattractive room. And the "room darkening drapes" don't pull closed. ;-{

Room Tip: good luck...can't offer anything positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

the lady at the front desk when i checked in was informative and pleasant. My room had a bedroom and separate living room area. The room was clean and both tv's worked fine and the bed was comfy. There is a fridge in the room which is useful. Right next door is a 7-11 and subway which was handy. The free breakfast was pretty good but I only used it one morning. A few negatives but not total deal breakers. The shower head was really lame and should be upgraded. There were a few dead bugs in the window track (inside) but they didn't look like anything too bad. The biggest downside is the wi-fi. It's slow and goes in and out. Plus it keeps logging you off so each time you go to use it you have to go thru the "accept the terms" page. Very annoying. I visit this area twice a year and this was the first visit to this hotel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a "suite" on the top floor. only a little bit more but worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at the Country Inn in Lexington one evening while traveling for work. The front desk staff were friendly, and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The workout facilities far exceeded my expectations given that the hotel is probably frequented by people making a stop on a road trip rather than business travelers.

The biggest downsides were that the internet connection was spotty and kept cutting out. I also discovered a bit of mold above our shower that I unhappily noticed after I showered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stopped at this hotel while driving home from Tennessee to New York. We had just stayed at two other Country Inns and Suites in the last week and this one did not measure up to the other two in Tennessee. The room and furniture was dated and the bed was not very comfortable. The included breakfast was really bad and we couldn't eat it. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel has definite housekeeping issues!! The bathroom wasn't very clean when we arrived. I just assumed that would be remedied the next day...boy was I wrong!! The housekeeping staff never cleaned our room at all the next day!! Even after stalking the outside of room. We left the room around 9:30 when we returned at noon for a quick change, the bed had not been made and it was evident that housekeeping had not come into the room. I called the front desk. When arrived back around 9pm...the room had still not been cleaned and I was told by the front desk that "housekeeping had already left" when I called at noon. It was evident that she didn't care!! There were no apologies. The next morning, housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8:30 a.m totally disregarding the DO NOT DISTURB sign!! The front desk is rude and doesn't seem to care about their customers. We WILL NOT stay in this hotel again!! I should have checked trip advisor...seems we weren't the only customers with a bad experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.