We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Adequate for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed there for a wedding and it is in a pretty area. Overall, we had no complaints. The room was clean, service was friendly, and breakfast was okay. I'm not a huge fan of the chain personally, but there isn't a particular reason for this more than taste.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
52
26
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Country Inns and Suites in Lexington, Va. It was by far the worse experience we have ever had at a hotel.

First of all we couldn’t find our room – it was down a dark, small hallway behind the elevator. When we walked in we couldn’t believe the room. It was as small as a closet! I immediately called the front desk and was told we had the cheapest room in the hotel. We were never told we were getting the cheapest room. At $129.60 with discount plus tax we didn’t think it was very cheap. We never asked for the cheapest room -- only for a room with one Queen bed because that was all that we required.. We asked to be moved and were told the hotel was completely booked. We checked in right at 3:00 p.m. – not late in the evening.

We were very uncomfortable in the room. The room was in the front of the building behind the elevator in the space occupied by the vending machine on other floors. The air conditioner was very noisy, it was right next to the bed. My husband and I couldn’t walk in the room at the same time.

When we checked out I told the people at the front desk that we were very unhappy and we would not be returning. Fortunately we had only planned to stay one night!!! I told them our thoughts and they said I didn’t book the room until July 25th and they were booked. However, I booked another room on Aug. 8th for a friend that was traveling with us. She got a lovely, large room with 2 beds. We would have been happy to pay the additional $20.00 for a decent night’s sleep. The girl at the front desk told me they very rarely rent out the room we had – why did they rent it to us? They should have at least told us about the room and given us a choice.

I am a long time Club Carlson member and wanted to use points for this trip. The person I talked to on the phone said it would cost 38,000 points because it was a Category 4 hotel and she wouldn’t suggest I do that. I don’t have that many points and they would only bring the price down a few dollars.

We have always been pleased with Country Inns and Suites but this made a very happy occasion we were attending in Lexington not so happy.

Room Tip: Don't accept an Economy Room -- it's like sleeping in the closet. Rooms in the front are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This motel was clean,, had a nice hot breakfast, an indoor pool, was close to restaurants and Lexington. The staff were friendly and had a lending library of books that can be returned to any Country Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, nice and large room, complimentary services available such as breakfast and parking.
Very convenient place to stay if you are on a road trip. Furthermore, the old town of Lexington is only 3 minutes drive from the hotel: just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is located along Lee Hwy with easy access to downtown Lexington. The hotel features free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast. The hotel staff is friendly, and eager to help out-of-towners. Given the price of a room with two queen beds, I would rate the hotel only "average". However, the friendly and helpful staff puts this hotel above others of similar quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is overpriced. This was our 4th hotel in a week and not only did it cost the most ($170 with discount, $187 total) but it was also the most run down. I have stayed at a number of Country Inn and Suites and had wonderful experiences. So, I chose this hotel over a couple of others because I expected the same high quality I had received at the other Country Inn and Suites and after a long day of travel I looked forward to unpacking and letting the kids take a dip in the pool. I was disappointed. The light in the hotel room was dim, but I could still see the stains on the floor and the couch. The pool was cold and cloudy. My kids were thrilled to find surprise toys at the bottom, but quickly lost them and they could not find them through the cloudiness. The pool was only 4 feet deep. The water in the hot tub was hot, but the pool floor and area around the hot tub seemed dated and did not have a clean feel. This was only made worse when I went to put on my cover up and a large beetle was sitting on top of it. There were also no pool towels available, luckily another guest noticed this since we were already in the pool when we realized the towels were all dirty. On a good note, the staff was friendly and the lady at the front desk was very nice. The bathroom in the hotel room seemed clean, the bed was comfortable and the work out area was nice. Breakfast was average at best. My husband is in the military and we travel frequently. When I pay $170 +tax for a room (again this was a discounted price) I expect a lot more than what we received. My advice would be to stop at one of the motels along the way. You will get the same quality of service for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently reserved a block of rooms here for a group of military personnel for two nights while coordinating training nearby. The sales manager was accommodating and the staff was courteous and tolerant of our last-minute changes. The breakfast area was rather small and could potentially get a little crowded if the hotel was booked to capacity. The hotel was easily accessible, situated near Interstate 81 but only a couple of minutes driving distance to downtown Lexington. There are a couple of options for dining either next door or across the street (Subway, Dairy Queen, Applebees).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.