We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Fort Hood, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is overpriced. This was our 4th hotel in a week and not only did it cost the most ($170 with discount, $187 total) but it was also the most run down. I have stayed at a number of Country Inn and Suites and had wonderful experiences. So, I chose this hotel over a couple of others because I expected the same high quality I had received at the other Country Inn and Suites and after a long day of travel I looked forward to unpacking and letting the kids take a dip in the pool. I was disappointed. The light in the hotel room was dim, but I could still see the stains on the floor and the couch. The pool was cold and cloudy. My kids were thrilled to find surprise toys at the bottom, but quickly lost them and they could not find them through the cloudiness. The pool was only 4 feet deep. The water in the hot tub was hot, but the pool floor and area around the hot tub seemed dated and did not have a clean feel. This was only made worse when I went to put on my cover up and a large beetle was sitting on top of it. There were also no pool towels available, luckily another guest noticed this since we were already in the pool when we realized the towels were all dirty. On a good note, the staff was friendly and the lady at the front desk was very nice. The bathroom in the hotel room seemed clean, the bed was comfortable and the work out area was nice. Breakfast was average at best. My husband is in the military and we travel frequently. When I pay $170 +tax for a room (again this was a discounted price) I expect a lot more than what we received. My advice would be to stop at one of the motels along the way. You will get the same quality of service for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
52
26
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently reserved a block of rooms here for a group of military personnel for two nights while coordinating training nearby. The sales manager was accommodating and the staff was courteous and tolerant of our last-minute changes. The breakfast area was rather small and could potentially get a little crowded if the hotel was booked to capacity. The hotel was easily accessible, situated near Interstate 81 but only a couple of minutes driving distance to downtown Lexington. There are a couple of options for dining either next door or across the street (Subway, Dairy Queen, Applebees).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalfsen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Because of a horse show in Salem (all hotels seemed to be booked) we decided to drive to Lexington on out trip to Washington DC. There was a bicycle event so we tried some hotel which were all full. Demotivated and a bit cranky we entered the Country Inn pretty late and loved the lobby with fire place immediately. The woman at the counter was very friendly and understanding and still had a room! We payed a bit (not much) extra for a jacuzzi room which bubbled all our sorrows right out of us.

Room Tip: the jacuzzi was very nice and affordable for a weekend night during a special event!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my second stay at the Lexington Country inn for another timber framing project, this time at the Habitat for Humanity site in Lexington.

Carlson Inns are my favorite place to stay and this one is great with their home style atmosphere, friendly staff, great location and wonderful breakfast included in the price.

April is a busy time of year in this area and I did not book soon enough. When I tried to book online all standard rooms were sold out so I decided to call and after Googling found a 1 800 number and thought I was talking to Carlson and booked the only option given which was a king suite for $175 per night. After booking with a credit card and receiving a confirmation email I was surprised to see it was hotel.now. On arrival at the hotel I found I could have only booked the king for one night and then the other four at the regular price of $100 per night with considerable savings but as I was prepaid could not change. Call your local Carlson and they will give you their 1 800 number and many more options.

The room is well laid out with separate sitting and bedroom with the bathroom in between. The heating/ air conditioning is located in a closet and very quiet. Each area has a large digital TV.

I ask for a room facing the back as the highway is close and can be busy if you face the front. It is very close to restaurants, gas, and a monster Wallmart. It is about ten minute drive to downtown Lexington and VMI.

I was surprised, after turning all the lights on, that the carpet in my third floor room was quite old and badly stained in many areas.

I was also not impressed, per my last report, to find that the cups and glasses were still PAPER. Coming from Ontario. Canada where they are glass. I was also disappointed that at 6 am on a Monday morning the daily papers were all taken. There are not papers delivered to rooms.

Wireless Internet is excellent and free. I believe they also have a computer with keyboard in the lobby for customer use.

Room Tip: Facing the back is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Surprising this small town has a larger number excellent local non-franchise restaurants than one might expect. Give the ease of access of this motel to the two Interstates, to the Virginia Horse Center and the two universities, it is quite an excellent destination for for a two or three night stay.

Room Tip: The backside is especially quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a team that I coach, so it was a large booking. Sara, the hotel manager was terrific. All the staff were very helpful and kind, despite being overrun by 25 young men. Rooms were comfortable and everything worked well. Hot tub was a big hit with the boys. The breakfast was very nice also. The hotel is well situated, with a 7-Eleven and Subway right next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

All of the comfort, convenience and excellent service this chain is known for. Great breakfast. Only one caution: the front of the building is very close to the busy street. If traffic/auto noise bothers you, you might want to request a room on the opposite "back" side of the facility.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.