We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Dalfsen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Because of a horse show in Salem (all hotels seemed to be booked) we decided to drive to Lexington on out trip to Washington DC. There was a bicycle event so we tried some hotel which were all full. Demotivated and a bit cranky we entered the Country Inn pretty late and loved the lobby with fire place immediately. The woman at the counter was very friendly and understanding and still had a room! We payed a bit (not much) extra for a jacuzzi room which bubbled all our sorrows right out of us.

Room Tip: the jacuzzi was very nice and affordable for a weekend night during a special event!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
30
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my second stay at the Lexington Country inn for another timber framing project, this time at the Habitat for Humanity site in Lexington.

Carlson Inns are my favorite place to stay and this one is great with their home style atmosphere, friendly staff, great location and wonderful breakfast included in the price.

April is a busy time of year in this area and I did not book soon enough. When I tried to book online all standard rooms were sold out so I decided to call and after Googling found a 1 800 number and thought I was talking to Carlson and booked the only option given which was a king suite for $175 per night. After booking with a credit card and receiving a confirmation email I was surprised to see it was hotel.now. On arrival at the hotel I found I could have only booked the king for one night and then the other four at the regular price of $100 per night with considerable savings but as I was prepaid could not change. Call your local Carlson and they will give you their 1 800 number and many more options.

The room is well laid out with separate sitting and bedroom with the bathroom in between. The heating/ air conditioning is located in a closet and very quiet. Each area has a large digital TV.

I ask for a room facing the back as the highway is close and can be busy if you face the front. It is very close to restaurants, gas, and a monster Wallmart. It is about ten minute drive to downtown Lexington and VMI.

I was surprised, after turning all the lights on, that the carpet in my third floor room was quite old and badly stained in many areas.

I was also not impressed, per my last report, to find that the cups and glasses were still PAPER. Coming from Ontario. Canada where they are glass. I was also disappointed that at 6 am on a Monday morning the daily papers were all taken. There are not papers delivered to rooms.

Wireless Internet is excellent and free. I believe they also have a computer with keyboard in the lobby for customer use.

Room Tip: Facing the back is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Surprising this small town has a larger number excellent local non-franchise restaurants than one might expect. Give the ease of access of this motel to the two Interstates, to the Virginia Horse Center and the two universities, it is quite an excellent destination for for a two or three night stay.

Room Tip: The backside is especially quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a team that I coach, so it was a large booking. Sara, the hotel manager was terrific. All the staff were very helpful and kind, despite being overrun by 25 young men. Rooms were comfortable and everything worked well. Hot tub was a big hit with the boys. The breakfast was very nice also. The hotel is well situated, with a 7-Eleven and Subway right next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

All of the comfort, convenience and excellent service this chain is known for. Great breakfast. Only one caution: the front of the building is very close to the busy street. If traffic/auto noise bothers you, you might want to request a room on the opposite "back" side of the facility.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First time here and when you walk into lobby you feel at home as first thing you see is wooden stairs leading to second floor and a gas fireplace beside stairs with lots of books to read by the fire. Wood trim, crown molding, that does not fit just like at home. Off season price was great and with coupon from magazine it cost less than $60. for the night although they really like taxes in this town. Taxes add 10% to lodging and meals, but they do not have yet bathroom tax,Oh should not have said that, they they might.
Motel was not busy being off season and I got first floor room on front, and it was also equipped for wheel chair and very high ceiling. Large bathroom, and king bed, nice furniture although room was a little smaller than Sleep Inn, I liked the quiet heat and air that never turned off and on but keep going and kept room warm and nice.
Note front is close to highway and has some road noise, I would ask for back for a quieter room.
Nice workout room with 3 large pieces of equipment and of course a tv.
Pool and hot tub was also both larger than Sleep Inn down the road, and I was alone in evening and morning in pool which I found a little cool but hot tub was just right.
Breakfast was nice and dining room was bright and large, almost made you feel right at home.
Worst thing was water pressure alarm kept going off all night long and got really bad around 7AM finally got up and went to hot tub and had breakfast. By 10AM they thought they had problem fixed.
I will probably go back.
Front desk was nice and helpful and even had hot fresh cookies for quests.
The refrig. and microwave are both in wooden cabinet that made room look nicer and quieter. I thought that was a plus!

Room Tip: Rooms on front have some road noise, as building is close to road, parking in front also looks somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for a family trip. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location was convenient to a number of restaurants, gas stations and a Wal-Mart 1/2 mile away. The hotel itself needs some help. There was mold and mildew in the bathroom on the ceiling and the tile. The toilet seat cover was cracked and ready to break. The hot tub was cold and the pool not warm. The staff reset the hot tub and while it was warmer later, only when the jets weren't turned on which defeats the purpose. Our door lock was tricky to get to work right. We were there for only 1 night so we didn't report all of the items mentioned except for hot tub. But given our earlier experiences with this hotel chain, we were disappointed. Generally, they are up on maintenance. We stayed at another facility close by the next night and toured several for wedding planning purposes and they were all much better for the same or better price. Given the options nearby, this place needs to step its game up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.