We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty rooms. Dirty duvets. Stay elsewhere if you can!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Musty rooms. Dirty duvets. Stay elsewhere if you can!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Needed a place to stay enroute from NC to OH. Booked 2 rooms for family here. Both rooms smelled musty. Both rooms had duvet covers that were clearly soiled! Yuck. Need I say more? Look for place with clean beds for each guest! However, two other alternatives were booked up already. If you plan to stop over, book early and book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I apologize for the less than satisfactory conditions you encountered in your rooms. We are working to improve our operations and your feed back is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
42
24
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for a night during a road trip and used a coupon from the visitor center coupon booklet ($75/night in June). The room was clean and the beds were comfortable with down filled comforters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The guy at check in recommended a local pizza place that delivered, and he gave us a menu as well. The customer service at that restaurant was excellent and the food was great, but that's a separate review.....The pool was clean and the breakfast was good for the price (included in room rate). We would have stayed again on our way back but we ended up driving farther to another Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We will continue to work hard to provide our guets with the quality of service and facilities that exceed xpectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We found bed bugs in the first room and stink bugs in the second. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
I apologize for the problem you experienced during you recent stay with us.
Please get in touch with me at the hotel so that we can discuss the issue, as it was not reported to the staff or myself prior to your posting.

Thank you very much;

Charles Haywood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stay at Country Inns fairly often, and found this one to be very nice. It's located in a quiet location a mile or so north of downtown Lexington. The hotel was very clean, and looked fairly new. There's an indoor pool and other amenities you normally expect from Country Inns. Our king room was well furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The front desk staff were especially friendly. The free hot breakfast seemed to be a little better than the average for other Country Inns we've stayed at. The price was about what you'd expect for such a hotel in a small town location. So overall we had a good stay here, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of the U.S.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We normally do not stay at this chain but decided to because we found a good rate in a booklet at the Visitor Center ($69.00). I would not pay more than that for this hotel. Lobby is very nice. Room is clean but could use better bedding. Internet service was good (Wireless too). Free bkfst was sufficient. Pool seemed clean and fitness center was basic but in good working order. Lady working the bkfst room was pleasant and efficient. Fresh baked cookies was a nice treat on the way home. If you like frozen yogurt walk next door to the mini mart/gas station/ Subway....yummy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Always a great value at Country Inn and Suites. Our hotel of choice while traveling!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

One of my favorites, stayed at this name many times in Canada and the Lexington site was just as good and very close to a duplicate.

From the moment you walk through the door it is appealing, lovely fireplace, free desktop internet, fresh cookies, desk staff that were always helpful and efficient.

Rooms are large, well finished, this one had a big screen flat TV with fifty plus channels. Wifi is free in all rooms.

Although it is located near the highway it is very quiet with Subway, Applebys, Dairy Queen and a Wallmart a short walk over the interchange. Parking is sufficient and well lit.

Some small changes from our Canadian location, we have old style tube TVs, they have plastic cups and some paper plates in breakfast while we have china.

The breakfast is included in the price and delicious for a traveler. Hot, cold, fruit, plus many other options that make an excellent morning meal or early lunch.

The price is a little more than many of the cut rate chains but I find the service and quality worth it.

Room Tip: Home away from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.