We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A sure kid pleaser. When we arrived it was raining, but no problem because the pool is indoors. The room was clean, the beds were comfy, and the breakfast room was family friendly, with several extra-big tables and a wide variety of food. Adults will notice that the food is not that great and the coffee is watery, but you can keep telling yourself that it's free, sort of.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iconographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stopped here on our way to North Carolina. The Staff noticed that my parents had mobility issues so were careful to place their room next to the elevator. Very friendly and would recommend this motel if your travels bring you to or through Lexington, VA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshowalter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

A group of 2 families, we stayed during July 4th weekend while in the area touring local attractions. We had 2 queen rooms. We arrived around 4:30 pm and check-in was a breeze. Front desk staff was friendly. Cookies were available and the kids took immediate advantage of them. In the lobby, a bookshelf is a host to small collections of book to borrow.

Our rooms were conveniently located next to each other. Both rooms were clean, updated, and spacious. Mattresses and pillows were comfortable. Our room was across from the elevator and I was a little concerned of the foot/elevator traffic noise at 2:00am, but was pleasantly surprised that foot traffic noise was a non-issue! Both room’s air conditioners were inconsistent and kept the rooms a little warm. We adjusted by turning temps way down.

We took advantage of the indoor pool. The pool area was full with guests, but everyone was courteous of everyone’s space. The pool area could have used more seating (only one table and chairs for patrons in the entire room). There were ample pool towels and the overall area was clean.

The breakfast area was large with lots of tables for guests! Breakfast was nice with: waffles, eggs and fresh toppings of salsa, cheese, onions & peppers, sausage, biscuits and gravy, prepared oatmeal and fresh toppings, various breads, muffins, & Danish, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yogurt, cereals, milk coffee and juices. Real plates, flatware, glasses, & cups were a nice addition to the breakfast experience.

We had a very nice stay at Country Inn and Suites in Lexington.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Although, this motel was basically ok, it is not as nice as I have come to expect from other Country Inn & Suites where I have stayed. The rooms seemed a little small, the vent in the bathroom was dirty and did not draw. The bedspreads were stained or dirty- we immediately took them off the beds and didn't use them. The indoor pool was too cold to use. We did not like the A/C controls- we like to run the A/C on low cool where the fan always runs; here, it had to be on either A/C which cuts on and off, or fan, which was not cool enough. I had to keep getting up during the night to switch it back and forth. The free breakfast was pretty good, although it is better at some of the othe C I & S locations. We might consider staying here again, but I'd see what else was available first.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRFNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
I will respond to items in your review in order you commented on them.

This isnot a new hotel as it was built eleven years ago when blueprints required different specs as to what they do today. With this in mind, we have just recently completed a total reovation of the property acording to Carlson requirements except for te flat screen televisions which are scheduled for later this year. This included new funniture, carpet, drapes, and so forth.Without your name, I cannot see what type of room you stayed in as we have six different types. After the May heavy demand for rooms, we had to terminate two of the housekeepers due to lack of attention to items such as the bathroom vents, duvet covers, and such. The pool is maintained at 81 or 82 degrees on a constant basis from the automatic gas heater. If you move from the Spa that is 102 degrees of course the pool will seem too cold. I don't know if this is what happened or not but only thing I can phathom since 82 is an excellent temperature for an indoor pool. The room A/C units are designed to come on when the temperature rises above the set temperature. This is standard on window/wall units. Had you been in a Suite, you could have maintained the fan continously since it is a Central Unit rather than a wall/window unit which by the way is a "LG" unit which is one of the best in the industry.

Short of offering a full made to order breakfast, it will be difficult to find a better breakfast anywhere that is INCLUDED with the room cost. Using real china, real silverware, and real coffee mugs and glasses. Unlike some hotels, we do not charge extra for the breakfast that has a rotating menu. A an example, today's menu consisted of eggs, sausage, rosemary potatoes, waffles, biscuits, bagels, muffins, white and wheat bread, variety donuts, fresh cooked Quaker oatmeal, apples, oranges, fresh mixed fruit, Yogurt, four kinds of Kelloggs cereals, three different coffees and teas each, 2% and skim milks, and three kinds of juices.

How does it get any better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Country Inn & Suites is overall a nice, clean, predictable hotel experience. However, it is my assessment that it seems overpriced for what you are getting. We paid $150 w/ taxes for 4 adults in room that may run $80 at other similar hotels. The Good: Wonderful breakfast with many options and very comfortable beds. The Bad: The pool supervisor was not apparently having a very good day. Our group (likely not completely innocent) got some disgruntled stares and an ultimatum to improve our behavior (having fun in the pool) or risk having our pool privileges revoked. Overall, I would consider other options in Lexington that may provide more value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefox111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
This is a tourism area and the weekend of 05/28 was a Holiday Weekend as well. Our rates are in the area of the competition's rates and most often less for comparable accommodations. The Wedding Group had a negotiated rate that was much better than the Standard Rate for that weekend. Remember that all rates are based on up to two adults. Additional adults are $10.00 more each. Area taxes of eleven (11) percent are not incorporated in the rate but are additional. As to the Pool Manager having a bad day, Yes I was. I had complaints of too much noise that was disturbing to other guests who were trying to get their kids to sleep since this was after 10PM. Wit no compliance to less noise requests twice, I promised on the third request to close the pool immediately if not adhered to. The hotel has to take the needs of all of our guests into consideration. Had the Wedding Party been the only guests here, it would have been easy to be more tolerant of everyone having fun.

Tom West
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
875 N. Lee Highway
Lexington, VA 24450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Recently (Feb. 2011) stayed at this hotel and found the staff very friendly. Was impressed with the breakfast and qualtity of the room. Usually stay at higher priced chains and decided to try this one. I was impressed! On future trips in this area I will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Love this hotel chain. This property is nice, just feels older (needs touch up paint, dusting in high corners of the lobby, etc). Best breakfast I've had at a hotel in a while. Nice variety. Hotel rates in this area higher than I expected, but I feel like I got a good deal for the suite we needed.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 875 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing