We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Wonderful Stay for Alumni Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
502 South Main
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Wonderful Stay for Alumni Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I, plus two other couples, all stayed here for an Alumni weekend. The rooms are lovely, as well as the bathrooms. Breakfast was sophisticated and tasty; served in a very pleasant setting. The house is in a perfect location to walk into town as well as to visit VMI and W&L. The proprietors are incredibly friendly and welcoming. If you able to book a room in this quaint B&B, you absolutely should! The house is great for alumni, and tourists alike.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently stayed at the 502 South Main and had a wonderful experience. The facility itself has been updated so that you have both the modern comforts and the quaintness as well. The rooms were very good size and had all the amenities one would hope for. The food was wonderful with great breakfasts and we will miss Mary Stuart's chocolate chip cookies. What really puts it over the top is Mary Stuart and Russ. They are very helpful and friendly, but let you have your space.
From offering to make reservations,making a to go breakfast so we could make an early appointment, and offering to drive us to our son's graduation and back to avoid the parking issues they could not have done any more to enhance our stay. I would highly recommend 502 South Main as you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Another lovely stay at 502 S. Main! Although it had been almost a year since our last visit, Mary Stuart and Russ welcomed us back with hospitality. Our second visit to 502 was just as refreshing and pleasant as the first. In my opinion, this is the best B&B in Lexington.

Our daughters joined my husband and I for this visit. They raved about how ‘VERY’ comfortable the beds were. Mary Stuart was thoughtful enough to seek my opinion about the morning’s breakfast menu to ensure that our daughters would be pleased with the selections. This is a level of service that, not only isn’t required, but isn’t often considered. The delicious breakfast made my older daughter, now a teenager, beam with delight. That is some trick, Mary Stuart!
A truly lovely stay and experience. We will be back. Hopefully, with a bit more time to relax on the front veranda with our host and hostess.
Lisa & Michael

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Virginia and the hospitality from Russ and Mary Stuart was "the best"
From Russ's welcoming to Mary Stuart wonderful breakfasts, it could not have beeb better. Everything that a truly great B & B should be. Beautiful rooms, a comfy sitting room, fantastic breakfasts, and kind hospitality. Don't miss this gem if visiting Lexington area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent one night in Lexington at 502 S. Main during a trip through Virginia. Russ and Mary Stuart were very welcoming, the house and room were beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, and the location is great for walking around downtown Lexington. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great people, great location. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. I was traveling from a B and B in MD to my home in GA. and I stayed one night. I was impressed with the friendliness of the hosts and the quaint town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at 502 for one night and it was a wonderful experince. Mary Stuart and Russ were born to run a B&B. The home is renovated and they've added in beautiful antique pieces that accentuate the history of the home. The room we stayed in (South) was spacious, beautiful, relaxing and had every amenity I could ever think of. They have truly outdone themselves. We will be staying there every time we're in Lexington from now on!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.