We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
502 South Main
502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband arranged an anniversary weekend for us and found this jewel of a place. Mary Stuart and Russ were delightful hosts and the food did not disappoint, with little extras appearing daily! We also asked for a few special things and they went above and beyond to accommodate us. The house is conveniently located within walking distance of the downtown area and the two local colleges. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the various paintings in the house.

We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is my favorite B&B in the world! We stay here when driving from CT to New Orleans. Impeccable place, outstanding hospitality. Exceeds all expectations. Mary and Russ really. take care of you. Also, extremely convenient. You will be charmed and spoiled. Plus Stonewall Jackson is buried a block away.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way up to see our son in NJ. The excellent reviews I read encouraged us to stay here, and we were not disappointed. Mary and Russ were very hospitable. The home is beautifully decorated, clean and charming. Our only regret is that we were only staying one night. We want to come back and explore this beautiful area, rich in beauty and history, and know that we can come home each night to quiet and comfort at 502 South Main.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mary and Russ were so generous and kind as hosts that you at once feel at ease. The house is decorated with exquisite taste and admirable restraint. If you are interested in art, there are paintings after Van Gogh and Gauguin properly in conversation across an archway. If ask about going to VMI campus, Russ will point out a painting of campus to illustrate key landmarks. If, in my case, your travel companion is not feeling well, Mary will kindly prepare a bland breakfast, and receive the request graciously even on New Year's morning.

The regular breakfasts are amazing, homemade bread AND jam, yogurt parfaits with homemade granola, and french toast with orange zest--I am not kidding! The rooms are equally well decorated with amazingly comfortable beds and ample space. Coffee and tea are available at all times. With all this, Mary and Russ also manage to be unobtrusive and discrete. I have never met a kinder pair of hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Mary Stuart and Russ were the perfect hosts. They greeted us with a smile and provided the best hospitality imaginable. The Inn was very comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Mary Stuart offered us hot tea by the fire and we were able to review menus of the local restaurants - most of which are within walking distance of the Inn. After a restful night's sleep, we were served a most delicious breakfast (sausage and egg casserole in an individual ramekin, fresh fruit, toast, juice and freshly baked gingerbread muffins). I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

502 South Main is a gem! Located within easy walking distance of downtown Lexington, this B&B is beautifully and comfortably decorated and showcases the owners' eclectic interests and global travels. The breakfast is plentiful, delicious, and healthful. The innkeepers hit just the right balance -- warm and helpful without being overbearing.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Admittedly, we have not stayed at tons of B&Bs, particularly in our younger years traveling with children. Now that we are empty-nesters, it is a trend that is on the upswing for us and we were so glad to include 502 South Main in our experiences. The reviews are spot on when they discuss the beautiful and spacious room and bathroom. Mary Stuart and Russ are incomparable hosts and we didn't lack for a thing. The breakfast was perfectly prepared and plentiful. The fresh baked cookies on arrival were also very welcome. This was our first visit to Lexington, VA, and we enjoyed the close proximity to downtown and enjoyed the restaurants that were recommended. We look forward to future visits to this lovely town and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list