We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs I've seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 South Main
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs I've seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Admittedly, we have not stayed at tons of B&Bs, particularly in our younger years traveling with children. Now that we are empty-nesters, it is a trend that is on the upswing for us and we were so glad to include 502 South Main in our experiences. The reviews are spot on when they discuss the beautiful and spacious room and bathroom. Mary Stuart and Russ are incomparable hosts and we didn't lack for a thing. The breakfast was perfectly prepared and plentiful. The fresh baked cookies on arrival were also very welcome. This was our first visit to Lexington, VA, and we enjoyed the close proximity to downtown and enjoyed the restaurants that were recommended. We look forward to future visits to this lovely town and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
81
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this B&B twice while traveling to and from the NC mountains. Russ and Mary Stuart are excellent hosts. The rooms are big and clean. The cookies are not to be missed.
Russ and Mary are very engaging hosts, and went out of their way to make us feel very comfortable in their home.

The B&B is within driving distance of the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a very pleasant mid-week break at 502 South Main. Mary Stuart and Russ were lovely hosts. Their beautiful home is an easy stroll to everything in Lexington. In fact, I parked my car and didn't touch it until I was ready to leave. I hope I can return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchesterd County NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

... on how a B&B should be run. Russ and Mary Stuart were gracious hosts, making us feel welcomed and pampered. Our room was lovely and quiet, nicely appointed, in a B&B within easy walking distance to downtown. The parlor had a variety of books, games and magazines, and the breakfast was great. What stands out most, however, is the warm hospitality, and the hosts' attention to detail. There were homemade cookies, a bed that was turned down for us while we were at dinner, and lovely wrapped chocolates on the pillows. Lexington is a nice town for history buffs and after walking our feet off, it was terrific to "come home" to 502 South Main.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as we made our way down the Blue Ridge Parkway. 502 is situated just a short drive from the Parkway and the historic town is an ideal place for a stopover.
The accommodation is situated at the top of the Main Street and has parking to the rear. On arrival we were very warmly greeted by Mary Stuart and shown to our room. We were in the West Room which overlooks the front of the property. Although overlooking the Main Street close to a set of traffic lights we were not aware of any noise - there is not much traffic on the road.
The West Room has sufficient space so that you feel comfortable and the bed and linen are just great. Towels, etc., are also of a high standard.
Breakfast, from memory, is served at 9am. However, for caffeine addicts fresh coffee is available in the hallway outside the rooms from about 7 or 7:30. For breakfast there is a selection of fruit juices, cereals and fruit followed by something cooked. Both mornings we were there it was delicious.
Mary Stuart spoils everyone in the afternoon with some delicious home baking. Truly wonderful creations. If you are out you will find something nice in your room upon your return. Lovely touch.
Russ is also the perfect host and both he and Mary Stuart do everything to ensure you have a very pleasant stay. They are very helpful in suggesting things to do, places to visit and also with restaurant recommendations.
Lexington itself is a beautiful town and easily walkable from 502 - try the self guided walking tour! Takes you to all the interesting points. Such friendly people and probably one of the nicest places we have visited in USA.
It is a long way to visit again from Scotland but if we are ever in the area again there is no doubt where we will stay!
Russ and Mary Stuart are a credit to their trade - keep up the great work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great overall experience. Greeted with hot cider and homemade oatmeal cookies. Huge tasty breakfast served by the fire by the pleasant host Mary. Quiet location a short walk to everything in Lexington. Beautiful house with comfortable spotless rooms and comfy beds.Will return on my next trip to W & L.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I visited Lexington to revisit the home of my youth. 502 S Main is located just a couple of doors from where I lived. It was an important and poignant visit for me and the hosts, Mary Stuart and Russ, made us feel like family. The food, the company, all the little touches that make you feel like you are at home were so meaningful to us. They have thought of everything to make the visit pleasant and relaxing. Cookies and cider in the afternoon, hot coffee first thing in the morning, lovely furnishings and great location for walking around Lexington and visiting all the cute shops and historical places. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.