We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Could Write the Book” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 South Main
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'15 - '16 Winter Special!
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westchesterd County NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They Could Write the Book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

... on how a B&B should be run. Russ and Mary Stuart were gracious hosts, making us feel welcomed and pampered. Our room was lovely and quiet, nicely appointed, in a B&B within easy walking distance to downtown. The parlor had a variety of books, games and magazines, and the breakfast was great. What stands out most, however, is the warm hospitality, and the hosts' attention to detail. There were homemade cookies, a bed that was turned down for us while we were at dinner, and lovely wrapped chocolates on the pillows. Lexington is a nice town for history buffs and after walking our feet off, it was terrific to "come home" to 502 South Main.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24theroadoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as we made our way down the Blue Ridge Parkway. 502 is situated just a short drive from the Parkway and the historic town is an ideal place for a stopover.
The accommodation is situated at the top of the Main Street and has parking to the rear. On arrival we were very warmly greeted by Mary Stuart and shown to our room. We were in the West Room which overlooks the front of the property. Although overlooking the Main Street close to a set of traffic lights we were not aware of any noise - there is not much traffic on the road.
The West Room has sufficient space so that you feel comfortable and the bed and linen are just great. Towels, etc., are also of a high standard.
Breakfast, from memory, is served at 9am. However, for caffeine addicts fresh coffee is available in the hallway outside the rooms from about 7 or 7:30. For breakfast there is a selection of fruit juices, cereals and fruit followed by something cooked. Both mornings we were there it was delicious.
Mary Stuart spoils everyone in the afternoon with some delicious home baking. Truly wonderful creations. If you are out you will find something nice in your room upon your return. Lovely touch.
Russ is also the perfect host and both he and Mary Stuart do everything to ensure you have a very pleasant stay. They are very helpful in suggesting things to do, places to visit and also with restaurant recommendations.
Lexington itself is a beautiful town and easily walkable from 502 - try the self guided walking tour! Takes you to all the interesting points. Such friendly people and probably one of the nicest places we have visited in USA.
It is a long way to visit again from Scotland but if we are ever in the area again there is no doubt where we will stay!
Russ and Mary Stuart are a credit to their trade - keep up the great work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great overall experience. Greeted with hot cider and homemade oatmeal cookies. Huge tasty breakfast served by the fire by the pleasant host Mary. Quiet location a short walk to everything in Lexington. Beautiful house with comfortable spotless rooms and comfy beds.Will return on my next trip to W & L.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I visited Lexington to revisit the home of my youth. 502 S Main is located just a couple of doors from where I lived. It was an important and poignant visit for me and the hosts, Mary Stuart and Russ, made us feel like family. The food, the company, all the little touches that make you feel like you are at home were so meaningful to us. They have thought of everything to make the visit pleasant and relaxing. Cookies and cider in the afternoon, hot coffee first thing in the morning, lovely furnishings and great location for walking around Lexington and visiting all the cute shops and historical places. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed just one night at this lovely B & B as we drove the Appalachian national parks route. Our very spacious room and ensuite were beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Mary Stewart made us so welcome and was on hand with helpful recommendations for dinner in town. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, if calorific! Lexington is a beautiful town, with lovely walks around the university grounds and the elegant main street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

With only one night to spend Russ and Mary Stuart Harlow made our stay memorable. They made us feel special, they cared enough to ask about food prefrances, helped with our luggage, showed us our beautiful bed and bath. We were waited on the next morning with a healthy breakfast. The home is wonderfully restored, with original paintings throughout with stories to match.!

Room Tip: Queen size bedroom and bath perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburgh, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After a long days drive it was such a pleasure to be greeted cheerfully by our hostess. She led us to our room and it was lovely; We were so pleased to find two comfortable chairs in front of the fireplace and a small fridge that was stocked with soft drinks and some snacks. Just perfect!

We had dinner at a local restaurant, recommended by Mary and we were not disappointed. It was great. We then took the time to drive around the town just a bit. It was so beautiful that we were sorry we did not have more time to spend in Lexington. Breakfast the next morning was really delicious. We have vowed that we will return next year for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing