We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
502 South Main
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I spent one lovely night at 502 South Main. Our room was delightful--large, meticulously-maintained, and quiet. And Russ and Mary Stuart were wonderful hosts with a genuine desire to have their guests enjoy their time in Lexington. The location is super-convenient for walking into town for dinner or shopping. And you will relish the opportunity to walk after a tremendous breakfast!

Room Tip: I do not recall our room's name: canopied bed in blue, upstairs in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
71
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really, I can't say anything bad about our stay at 502 South Main. The room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Russ and Mary Stuart were incredibly nice and catered to our every whim, and breakfast was delicious! The area is beautiful and the B&B is conveniently located. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights last weekend at 502, and from beginning to end it was perfect! I don't want to repeat the other reviews, but suffice it to say that the whole place is wonderful and spotless, but the true difference is in the hosts. Mary Stuart and Russ did everything possible to make us feel at home, starting with a welcome snack - homebaked goodies and tea or cider - and the offer of whatever we needed - extra glasses, a cutting board, whatever! I very much appreciated the small fridge stocked with water and soft drinks and an array of snacks in the room - refreshed every day. And the breakfasts were incredible and enough to get us through to dinner! Pumpkin pancakes, quiche, fresh baked muffins and fruit - truly a feast! We've stayed at many B&B's over the years, some of them really terrific. But these folks truly have the gift of hospitality and that made all the difference. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed one night at 502, but the whole experience, from the time we pulled into the parking lot until we left, was perfect. I don't want to repeat the other reviews here, but they are correct. The facility is beautiful. It is well appointed. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are perfect. The breakfast was wonderful and our hosts, Mary Stuart and Russ, were friendly and helpful. I can't imagine what else anyone would want. I recommend 502 without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent three days at 502 South Main and it was a wonderful experience. Mary Stuart and Russ, the innkeepers are so warm and welcoming. They made our stay extra special. We stayed in the Deluxe King South Room and it is a beautiful, large space. Very comfortable bed and pillows, a very large, marble bath with a huge shower and claw foot tub. Our room, as well as the entire home, is beautifully decorated and was spotless.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Mary Stuart and as soon as we were shown to our room were given a bottle of Virginia wine, fresh made cookies and chocolate covered strawberries. This was a part of a Living Social deal and it made the beginning of our stay extra special. We also had a fridge that had cold drinks and water for us to enjoy.
Each morning Mary Stuart and Russ served us a delicious breakfast fit for a king that got us ready for our day of touring.
We really enjoyed our stay at this inn and plan on returning again. Mary and Russ make you feel like one of the family!

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful but our friends stayed in the queen room and it was lovely too. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This couple demonstrates genuine hospitality, or "xenia" as the ancient greeks called it. From the close-to-home artwork to the supremely comfy beds, this place epitomizes the B&B culture. Mary Stuart and Russ truly know how to welcome people who are far from home and make them feel comfortable. We only had time to spend one night at 502 last week, but it was a perfect reward after a 2-day backpacking trip on the AT in central VA. Recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from three nights in the South Room at 502 South Main B&B. It was our first B&B experience and I'm afraid we've been spoiled for any other. Russ met us at the door, called us by name, and helped us get our luggage to our room. Mary Stuart brought us our favorite drink (iced tea) and cookies fresh out of the oven. This all within 30 minutes of arrival. Our room was was amazing. We had a sitting area, a huge bedroom area, and the most fantastic bathroom. The bathroom was two rooms, a marble walk-in shower and toilet in one room and the sink and claw-foot bath tub in the other room. Everything was luxurious, including the soaps, lotions, etc. We really enjoyed the sitting room downstairs and the swing/rockers on the front porch. Mary Stuart provided afternoon snacks, in addition to the snacks already provided (along with drinks) in our room refrigerator. Breakfast was served in the very elegant dining room. We had three courses each day and they were all delicious. Lexington is filled with history and has so many places to visit. I would recommend the carriage ride as a great introduction to all the sites to see. I would highly recommend 502 South Main...you will fill pampered and spoiled!!!!

Room Tip: The South room is quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.