We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 South Main
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from two nights at Mary Stuart and Ross's B&B in Lexington, VA. Just a beautiful home, spotlessly clean and with all the extra little touches that make a B&B stay most enjoyable. Breakfasts were amazing, and probably enough to keep you going all day! We stayed in the largest room, beautifully decorated, with a sitting area and large bathroom. 502 Main is within walking distance of most of the main attractions of Lexington, which is a nice little town with plenty to keep you occupied if you are not familiar with the area. We would thoroughly recommend 502 and its hosts and will try to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
81
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a delightful visit! The area has so much history and the location within walking distance of VMI and W&L, our hosts so accommodating, the room luxurious, the food wonderful. We were spoiled! Best B&B ever! The experience is worth coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This would have to be one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed in. Mary Stuart and Russ are wonderful hosts and very friendly. The breakfast meals are delicious and I really liked the small touches (like the chocolate mints that would appear on my pillow each night). The B&B is within walking distance of all the major attractions (Stonewall Jackson cemetery, Stonewall Jackson house, Washington & Lee college, VMI etc).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We planned a family reunion weekend at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Mary Stuart and Russ welcomed us with the most cordial hospitality we've experienced anywhere. The house is warm and welcoming. The rooms, comfortable and well appointed, and the food, far beyond our expectations. Mary Stuart is quite an accomplished chef. This place and these hosts are gems. We shall be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a wonderful weekend to spend at a B&B with gracious innkeepers that assist in providing a trip you'll want to repeat. In this historic quaint town, with wonderful history, scenery and restaurants, Russ and Mary Staurt provide a beautiful, clean, and comfortable home away from home. Mary Stuart is a Chef that prepares a masterful breakfast and will address any special dietary needs. We travel a lot have have been to quite a few B&B's. This ranks very high and you can not be dissappointed. Go, stay, and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I came for the Veterans Day weekend complimentary night's stay for retired military. The house was beautiful and the food was amazing. Russ and Mary Stuart are so warm and gracious, we felt right at home. Their home had personal paintings and family items that added to the cozy feeling. An added bonus was the charming town and the opportunity to visit our former students (we both formerly taught high school) who were attending nearby, VMI. Mary Stuart even offered to take goodies to our students at VMI. We will definitely return to see you Russ and Mary Stuart you are the best!

From Frankie and Sharon

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Room and it is definitely fit for a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Harlow's were simply wonderful hosts. The B&B is one of, if not the nicest that we've discovered. A beautiful home within close proximity to downtown. We chose the "South" room, huge room, sitting area, master bath with walk-in shower + claw-foot tub.., everthing was well appointed room and clean + a small refridgerator stocked with drinks, tv, etc. Breakfast was wonderful, an egg/sausage/grit soufflé the first day and french toast the second - so good it didnt need syrup. We're looking for reasons to return to Lex so we can stay again soon.

Room Tip: The south room is the largest - we peaked in the others, all well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.