We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 South Main
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a wonderful weekend to spend at a B&B with gracious innkeepers that assist in providing a trip you'll want to repeat. In this historic quaint town, with wonderful history, scenery and restaurants, Russ and Mary Staurt provide a beautiful, clean, and comfortable home away from home. Mary Stuart is a Chef that prepares a masterful breakfast and will address any special dietary needs. We travel a lot have have been to quite a few B&B's. This ranks very high and you can not be dissappointed. Go, stay, and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
79
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I came for the Veterans Day weekend complimentary night's stay for retired military. The house was beautiful and the food was amazing. Russ and Mary Stuart are so warm and gracious, we felt right at home. Their home had personal paintings and family items that added to the cozy feeling. An added bonus was the charming town and the opportunity to visit our former students (we both formerly taught high school) who were attending nearby, VMI. Mary Stuart even offered to take goodies to our students at VMI. We will definitely return to see you Russ and Mary Stuart you are the best!

From Frankie and Sharon

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Room and it is definitely fit for a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Harlow's were simply wonderful hosts. The B&B is one of, if not the nicest that we've discovered. A beautiful home within close proximity to downtown. We chose the "South" room, huge room, sitting area, master bath with walk-in shower + claw-foot tub.., everthing was well appointed room and clean + a small refridgerator stocked with drinks, tv, etc. Breakfast was wonderful, an egg/sausage/grit soufflé the first day and french toast the second - so good it didnt need syrup. We're looking for reasons to return to Lex so we can stay again soon.

Room Tip: The south room is the largest - we peaked in the others, all well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for our wedding anniversary and Mary Stuart and Russ were the most wonderful hosts! They were very warm and friendly and had a LOT of information in what to see and do.

We stayed in the East room. The room and bathroom was beautiful and immaculate. There were wonderful extras including snacks in the afternoon and a nightly turndown service. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had a quiche and even caramel pecan French toast.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area! I feel like we left with two new friends and a new favorite place to visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

502 South Main is a beautiful house surrounded by a lovely yard. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting Mary Stuart and Russ and our fellow guests. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Russ and Mary Stuart couldn't be more gracious, helpful and hospitable. My room was large, extremely comfortable and kitted out with anything you could want. The common areas indoor and outdoor are great. Mary Stuart cooks up a wonderful and plentiful breakfast every morning, and there are lots of little extras they shower you with. You're a short walk to town and campuses of both schools. Ample parking behind thd house.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We couldn't have been more pampered at our stay last night at 502 South Main in Lexington. From Russ's piano serenade to Mary's home baked scones, we enjoyed every peaceful minute at this delightful, extra clean, perfectly charming B&B. The historic home is a short walk from the center of town, so we were able to shop and eat out in Lexington without having to get in the car.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.