We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Veteran's Day Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
502 South Main
Save
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Veteran's Day Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I came for the Veterans Day weekend complimentary night's stay for retired military. The house was beautiful and the food was amazing. Russ and Mary Stuart are so warm and gracious, we felt right at home. Their home had personal paintings and family items that added to the cozy feeling. An added bonus was the charming town and the opportunity to visit our former students (we both formerly taught high school) who were attending nearby, VMI. Mary Stuart even offered to take goodies to our students at VMI. We will definitely return to see you Russ and Mary Stuart you are the best!

From Frankie and Sharon

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Room and it is definitely fit for a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Harlow's were simply wonderful hosts. The B&B is one of, if not the nicest that we've discovered. A beautiful home within close proximity to downtown. We chose the "South" room, huge room, sitting area, master bath with walk-in shower + claw-foot tub.., everthing was well appointed room and clean + a small refridgerator stocked with drinks, tv, etc. Breakfast was wonderful, an egg/sausage/grit soufflé the first day and french toast the second - so good it didnt need syrup. We're looking for reasons to return to Lex so we can stay again soon.

Room Tip: The south room is the largest - we peaked in the others, all well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the B&B for our wedding anniversary and Mary Stuart and Russ were the most wonderful hosts! They were very warm and friendly and had a LOT of information in what to see and do.

We stayed in the East room. The room and bathroom was beautiful and immaculate. There were wonderful extras including snacks in the afternoon and a nightly turndown service. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had a quiche and even caramel pecan French toast.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area! I feel like we left with two new friends and a new favorite place to visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

502 South Main is a beautiful house surrounded by a lovely yard. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting Mary Stuart and Russ and our fellow guests. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Russ and Mary Stuart couldn't be more gracious, helpful and hospitable. My room was large, extremely comfortable and kitted out with anything you could want. The common areas indoor and outdoor are great. Mary Stuart cooks up a wonderful and plentiful breakfast every morning, and there are lots of little extras they shower you with. You're a short walk to town and campuses of both schools. Ample parking behind thd house.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We couldn't have been more pampered at our stay last night at 502 South Main in Lexington. From Russ's piano serenade to Mary's home baked scones, we enjoyed every peaceful minute at this delightful, extra clean, perfectly charming B&B. The historic home is a short walk from the center of town, so we were able to shop and eat out in Lexington without having to get in the car.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

Every thing from the room we stayed in to each and every meal are some of the best we've had in all of our travels. A very homey experience while maintaining the elegance of an upper echelon bed and breakfast. We will definitely be back next time my wife and I visit friends at VMI. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.