We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“502 South Main” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
502 South Main
Save Saved
You added 502 South Main to your Saves list
502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“502 South Main”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Lovely rooms, clean and pretty, comfortable atmosphere, just a really nice stay... maybe the breakfast was lacking in the usual food items, like toast, cereal and such. We would definately like to return one of these days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
65
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a great experience at this B&B! Such amazing food, service and accommodations. Russ and Mary Stuart are so friendly and care to your every need. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place rightly deserves 9 out of 10. If you are new to Lexington and its surroundings then Mary S and Ross are the people to talk to. They are extremely kind and they tended to our every need. The place is located within walking distance from downtown, about 4 minutes. The house is large, warm, not big on antiques, simple but classy. With a real fireplace the living room would be perfect! The rooms are almost immaculate and the bathrooms spacious and bright. The huge mattress was a bit saggy for my taste. Breakfast is very generous and the spinach and egg soufflé with cinnamon apple tasty, if you are a big eater fresh fruit, homemade cake and cereals are also available. It is slightly pricey but you get an excellent service. I would gladly return if the top 3 places in town are fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Mary Stuart and her husband Ross purchased this village inn this spring. 502 Main Street is perfection in every way. Designer decorated with elegance and charm you can rest luxuriously here in warmth and comfort. The dining room and parlor are chic and at the same time radiate relaxation.
We stayed in the East Suite with a huge canopied bed, period furniture and a fireplace. The bathroom is as up to date as you can get. Beautifully tiled, slick and modern white still retaining the charm of the Inn. The Inn combines the best of country charm and elegance with modernity where it is welcome.
Highest recommendation. You will love your hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

A visit to this wonderful, quaint and charming village definitely requires an overnight stay at Russ and Mary Stuart's 502 South Main B&B. You will receive friendly and personal treatment, as well as immaculate accommodations and a fabulous, freshly prepared breakfast. The B&B is wonderfully decorated, however, it is more beautiful than the few photos on their website, which we did suggest to the owners to update. It is within walking distance of the restaurants, shops, colleges and various historical attractions. We will definitely recommend these accommodations to our friends and family and any future travelers to this area of Virginia.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and tastefully decorated.....the bathrooms are to die for!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We chose 502 South Main to lodge this past weekend. Our dear friends joined us there so we occupied two of the three rooms available. Do not let the limited photos on the website discourage you. I can assure you the king and queen rooms were tastefully decorated and absolutely pristine.The owners of this B and B went out of their way to provide all the extra nuances we could ever want. The breakfasts for two days were fabulous! We were within easy walking distance of downtown. All in all, our experience was outstanding. We would heartily recommend this home. You will leave knowing you have made two new friends in the owners. We will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: One room has a king, one has a queen and the third room has two twins. So your need should determine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a great bed and breakfast! We arrived later than anticipated and were still greeted with smiles by Mary and Russ. Breakfast was fabulous both mornings, a three course breakfast. The inn keepers were very friendly and pointed out the area attractions and other places to eat. Our room was immaculate! We will be going back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the South room. It was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 502 South Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.