We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful "mistake"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan Livery Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Sheridan Livery Inn
Save Saved
You added Sheridan Livery Inn to your Saves list
35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful "mistake"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Traveling from Massachusetts to Florida wanted to stay around Lexington VA; made reservations in advance for a good hotel. The directions to the hotel somehow wrongly sent us to the door Sheridan Livery and it was good fate! Nice big broom, mattress and bedding was over-the-top for the price paid, free continental breakfast and a quaint, wonderful dining room - great great chef!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herndon va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Inn has the look of a bed and breakfast, but the privacy and convenience of a very nice hotel. For us it was just the right mix. The room we stayed in (#10) was spacious and very comfortable. We wanted to stay in the historic area of Lexington, and the rate was comporable to chain hotels near the interstate. Check in was painless, and the reserved parking for each unit, was a nice touch. Without hesitation, will stay here again. Lovely, lovely building, and very nice owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst travelling down the skyline/blue ridge parkway. We found the inn after the recommended one in our guide book was closed, and were given a very large room. It was clean, had wifi, free breakfast, good shower and a good location close to the nice restaurants in town. The only negative for us was that the heater was very loud. It was a bit dated but still very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for Thanksgiving. It was just what we wanted! The inn was clean and the staff friendly. Our bed was one of the most comfortable beds on which I have ever slept and the location of the hotel was perfect, right in downtown Lexington!
This might not be as "fancy" as some of the bed and breakfasts around town, but it still has its own charm and one can not beat the price.
We will tell our friends good things about the Sheridan Livery Inn and we hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a road trip. It's a great location, right downtown Lexington. Parking is free, and they include a free continental breakfast. Our room had a small refrigertor, which was nice. As long as your expectations are such that this is an old-school B&B, then this place fits the bill. The prorprietors are very welcoming and kind. The decor is more in keeping with the times of the building. Don't expect modernity here, but it's clean, spacious, and has everything you need for a good stay. In my opinion, it was a good value (the price was right for what you get). Note: there is no elevator, so you'll need to carry your bags up the stairs (fortunately, the staircase is very wide).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at Sheridan Livery Inn in the Fall 1999, and I'm please to report that nothing has changed upon my return in the Fall of 2013! Needless to say the Sheridan has a great location, though it is in desperate need of an interior and exterior renovation.

It lacks a dedicated reception area along with front desk personal, and an archaic method of requiring the room paid in full upon check-in. Additionally, my biggest complaint is that of the use of a "actual" room key not card, mind you I was in Romania a month before and did not have to use a "actual" key once. Disclaimer, I did lose my key and was subsequently charged $20 for the infraction.

You are paying for Location that' why I stayed, and obviously not the outdated rooms, lack of service, brass keys, cones in the parking space, mini fridge on the floor, and a horribly mislabeled continental breakfast. Overall, the Sheridan could be so much more, but it's not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I thought it was a good value, however, no ice machine nor elevator-dinner was delicious and the managers were very nice, walking to anything related to VMI or W&L was a breeze-most popular restaurants are very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Livery Inn

Address: 35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Also Known As:
Sheridan Livery Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan Livery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;