We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Reasonable, and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan Livery Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheridan Livery Inn
Save
You added Sheridan Livery Inn to your Saves list
35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
herndon va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, Reasonable, and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Inn has the look of a bed and breakfast, but the privacy and convenience of a very nice hotel. For us it was just the right mix. The room we stayed in (#10) was spacious and very comfortable. We wanted to stay in the historic area of Lexington, and the rate was comporable to chain hotels near the interstate. Check in was painless, and the reserved parking for each unit, was a nice touch. Without hesitation, will stay here again. Lovely, lovely building, and very nice owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst travelling down the skyline/blue ridge parkway. We found the inn after the recommended one in our guide book was closed, and were given a very large room. It was clean, had wifi, free breakfast, good shower and a good location close to the nice restaurants in town. The only negative for us was that the heater was very loud. It was a bit dated but still very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for Thanksgiving. It was just what we wanted! The inn was clean and the staff friendly. Our bed was one of the most comfortable beds on which I have ever slept and the location of the hotel was perfect, right in downtown Lexington!
This might not be as "fancy" as some of the bed and breakfasts around town, but it still has its own charm and one can not beat the price.
We will tell our friends good things about the Sheridan Livery Inn and we hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a road trip. It's a great location, right downtown Lexington. Parking is free, and they include a free continental breakfast. Our room had a small refrigertor, which was nice. As long as your expectations are such that this is an old-school B&B, then this place fits the bill. The prorprietors are very welcoming and kind. The decor is more in keeping with the times of the building. Don't expect modernity here, but it's clean, spacious, and has everything you need for a good stay. In my opinion, it was a good value (the price was right for what you get). Note: there is no elevator, so you'll need to carry your bags up the stairs (fortunately, the staircase is very wide).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at Sheridan Livery Inn in the Fall 1999, and I'm please to report that nothing has changed upon my return in the Fall of 2013! Needless to say the Sheridan has a great location, though it is in desperate need of an interior and exterior renovation.

It lacks a dedicated reception area along with front desk personal, and an archaic method of requiring the room paid in full upon check-in. Additionally, my biggest complaint is that of the use of a "actual" room key not card, mind you I was in Romania a month before and did not have to use a "actual" key once. Disclaimer, I did lose my key and was subsequently charged $20 for the infraction.

You are paying for Location that' why I stayed, and obviously not the outdated rooms, lack of service, brass keys, cones in the parking space, mini fridge on the floor, and a horribly mislabeled continental breakfast. Overall, the Sheridan could be so much more, but it's not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I thought it was a good value, however, no ice machine nor elevator-dinner was delicious and the managers were very nice, walking to anything related to VMI or W&L was a breeze-most popular restaurants are very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently made our fourth trip to Lexington, Virginia, a wonderful small town in the Shenandoah region that often is described as one of the best places in the country to retire. For history buffs, there is a lot of it, from Stonewall Jackson's home and gravesite, to the Lee Chapel on the Washington & Lee campus where Robert E. Lee is buried, to Virginia Military Institute (VMI) and the George C. Marshall library and museum. For accommodations during our three-day stay in Lexington, we decided to try something new. Sheridan Livery Inn on Main Street was highly recommended by Frommer's and Fodor's so we opted to give it a shot. We certainly weren't disappointed. Everything the travel experts said about it was true and then some. For location, there is nothing better. From the front door, you can walk to all of the historical sites. The Jackson house is in the backyard. Washington & Lee and Lee Chapel are across the street and up the hill. VMI is just around the corner. Jackson's cemetery is a refreshing morning walk down Main Street. Who could ask for more? The room was large and comfortable with a high ceiling. As a bonus, Sheridan Livery Inn has an outstanding but little publicized restaurant that got us up and going at breakfast and filled our appetites at dinner. Built in 1887 as a stable, the building was renovated and converted to a hotel in 1997. Hospitality is a plus. The owners are hands-on in the restaurant and always eager to please. The nightly specials are to die for. More people ought to be aware of this restaurant, which also offers outside patio dining. There is no elevator and there are 25 steps leading to the second floor. So if you don't like climbing stars, request a first-floor room. Credit young chef Franky Benincasa, son of co-owners Ugo and Gina Benincasa, and his wife Meredith for turning the kitchen and dining room into a four-star delight. He specializes in South Carolina Low Country style--he sold his restaurant in Charlottesville to come here--such as shrimp and sausage over cheese grits and grilled rainbow trout. Whatever he does, he does it right.

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room if you don't want to climb 25 steps (no elevator) to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Livery Inn

Address: 35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sheridan Livery Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan Livery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.