We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan Livery Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheridan Livery Inn
35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a road trip. It's a great location, right downtown Lexington. Parking is free, and they include a free continental breakfast. Our room had a small refrigertor, which was nice. As long as your expectations are such that this is an old-school B&B, then this place fits the bill. The prorprietors are very welcoming and kind. The decor is more in keeping with the times of the building. Don't expect modernity here, but it's clean, spacious, and has everything you need for a good stay. In my opinion, it was a good value (the price was right for what you get). Note: there is no elevator, so you'll need to carry your bags up the stairs (fortunately, the staircase is very wide).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at Sheridan Livery Inn in the Fall 1999, and I'm please to report that nothing has changed upon my return in the Fall of 2013! Needless to say the Sheridan has a great location, though it is in desperate need of an interior and exterior renovation.

It lacks a dedicated reception area along with front desk personal, and an archaic method of requiring the room paid in full upon check-in. Additionally, my biggest complaint is that of the use of a "actual" room key not card, mind you I was in Romania a month before and did not have to use a "actual" key once. Disclaimer, I did lose my key and was subsequently charged $20 for the infraction.

You are paying for Location that' why I stayed, and obviously not the outdated rooms, lack of service, brass keys, cones in the parking space, mini fridge on the floor, and a horribly mislabeled continental breakfast. Overall, the Sheridan could be so much more, but it's not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I thought it was a good value, however, no ice machine nor elevator-dinner was delicious and the managers were very nice, walking to anything related to VMI or W&L was a breeze-most popular restaurants are very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently made our fourth trip to Lexington, Virginia, a wonderful small town in the Shenandoah region that often is described as one of the best places in the country to retire. For history buffs, there is a lot of it, from Stonewall Jackson's home and gravesite, to the Lee Chapel on the Washington & Lee campus where Robert E. Lee is buried, to Virginia Military Institute (VMI) and the George C. Marshall library and museum. For accommodations during our three-day stay in Lexington, we decided to try something new. Sheridan Livery Inn on Main Street was highly recommended by Frommer's and Fodor's so we opted to give it a shot. We certainly weren't disappointed. Everything the travel experts said about it was true and then some. For location, there is nothing better. From the front door, you can walk to all of the historical sites. The Jackson house is in the backyard. Washington & Lee and Lee Chapel are across the street and up the hill. VMI is just around the corner. Jackson's cemetery is a refreshing morning walk down Main Street. Who could ask for more? The room was large and comfortable with a high ceiling. As a bonus, Sheridan Livery Inn has an outstanding but little publicized restaurant that got us up and going at breakfast and filled our appetites at dinner. Built in 1887 as a stable, the building was renovated and converted to a hotel in 1997. Hospitality is a plus. The owners are hands-on in the restaurant and always eager to please. The nightly specials are to die for. More people ought to be aware of this restaurant, which also offers outside patio dining. There is no elevator and there are 25 steps leading to the second floor. So if you don't like climbing stars, request a first-floor room. Credit young chef Franky Benincasa, son of co-owners Ugo and Gina Benincasa, and his wife Meredith for turning the kitchen and dining room into a four-star delight. He specializes in South Carolina Low Country style--he sold his restaurant in Charlottesville to come here--such as shrimp and sausage over cheese grits and grilled rainbow trout. Whatever he does, he does it right.

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room if you don't want to climb 25 steps (no elevator) to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been here several times when visiting my parents from Princeton, NJ. This restaurant has great food and good drink selections. The waitstaff has always been extremely nice. I come here whenever visiting my parents. Their chicken salad is awesome!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our fourth trip to the Livery and once again it did not disappoint. Park your car in the parking lot and you won't need it again until you are ready to leave. The people that run the Livery are wonderful, treat you like family. Breakfast is very simple but if you want more there are several great places in town to grab a bite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After a long day's motorcycling (from DC), we weren't even sure we wanted to stop in Lexington, I am SO glad we did. We found out about the hotel from the lovely lady at the tourist board, and it was just perfect - great price, comfortable well presented rooms, really excellent dinner (for about $20 the New York Strip was amazing, as were the local cocktails to celebrate my birthday!), decent breakfast choice (included in the price), and a decent bar over the street. Stonewall Jackson's grave and the General Lee memorial church were unexpected highlights and the whole town just had a great vibe (this is June remember so when VMI and the university are in full swing it must only get better!)

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Livery Inn

Address: 35 N Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Also Known As:
Sheridan Livery Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan Livery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sheridan Livery Inn to your Saves list